Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Flint Creek Speedway

Gustin dominates MARS finale at West Siloam

July 7, 2013, 6:54 am
From team and series reports
Ryan Gustin (19r) topped Brad LooneY (14) at West Siloam Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)
Ryan Gustin (19r) topped Brad LooneY (14) at West Siloam Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)

WEST SILOAM SPRINGS, Okla. (July 6) — Pole-starting rookie Ryan Gustin of Marshalltown, Iowa, led all the way Saturday at West Siloam Speedway to grab his third MARS DIRTcar Series victory of the season, pocketing $3,000. | Slideshow

Fourth-starting Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., turned up the heat on Gustin late in the race, but the six-time series champion gave up second when he slowed to draw a caution flag and ended up 16th in the 22-car field.

Four-time series winner Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo., advanced six positions to finish second with Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., in third. Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., and Friday’s West Siloam winner Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., rounded out the top five.

The main event was slowed by three cautions; Along with Phillips, Wendell Wallace and Justin Asplin also slowed to draw yellows.

Gustin’s previous victories came May 11 at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway and June 28 at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb.

Notes: Gustin’s Gressel Racing Victory Circle Chassis is powered by a Mullins engine and sponsored by McCarthney Welding, Integra Racing Shocks and Eibach Springs. ... Raymond Merrill of Sallisaw, Okla., drove Jack Sullivan's familiar No. 1 GRT Race Cars house car, finishing sixth. ... MARS competitors take a break before a July 25 event at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway, the makeup of a March cancellation.

MARS @ West Siloam: (1) Ryan Gustin, (2) Tony Jackson Jr., (3) Brad Looney, (4) Timothy Culp, (5) Jesse Stovall, (6) Raymond Merrill, (7) Tommy Weder Jr., (8) Brantlee Gotschall, (9) Ken Essary, (10) Justin Wells, (11) Coleman Younger, (12) Justin Asplin, (13) Jeff Roth, (14) Randy Roth, (15) Leroy Johnson, (16) Terry Phillips, (17) Wendell Wallace, (18) Dustin Walker, (19) Glenn Bratti, (20) Steve Johnson, (21) Jon Driskill, (22) Houston Garrison. Heat race winners (among 22 cars): Phillips, Looney, Wallace, Gustin.

Corrections: Fixes next series event; fixes Gustin's chassis brand to Victory Circle sted Rocket.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728