Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Belleville High Banks

Segraves breaks through for his first NCRA victory

July 6, 2013, 6:28 am
By David Smith Jr.
National Championship Racing Association
Jimmy Segraves celebrates his first NCRA victory at Belleville. (Todd Boyd)
Jimmy Segraves celebrates his first NCRA victory at Belleville. (Todd Boyd)

BELLEVILLE, Kan. (July 5) — Jimmy Segraves of Wichita, Kan., led all but the first lap Friday at the Belleville High Banks for his first career victory on the National Championship Racing Association.

Segraves, NCRA’s 2007 Rookie of the Year, took the checkers ahead of Chase Junghans of Manhattan, Kan., who led the first lap of the 20-lap main event. Mike Wiarda of Aurora, Neb., was third followed by Gary Gorby of Caney, Kan., and 13th-starting Delbert Smith of Wichita in the 14-car field. | Slideshow

Junghans started on the pole with Segraves inheriting a front-row spot after heat race winner Dean Moore of Grand Junction, Colo., scratched with engine problems.

Junghans led a single lap before Seagraves took over the top spot on lap two. One lap later, the red flag appeared when series rookie Jeremy Petty’s car flew over the turn-four wall. The car landed upright; he was uninjured but done for the night.

On the restart, Seagraves maintained his lead and kept Junghans behind him the rest of the way and went on to score his first Belleville victory.

Notes: Segraves drives a No. 3 sponsored by Alternative Pest Management and Superior Control Concepts. ... His previous victory came May 17 at Salina (Kan.) Speedway in weekly action. ... Next up for NCRA competitors is July 12-13 action at the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kan., and Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan.

NCRA @ Belleveille: (1) Jimmy Segraves, (2) Chase Junghans, (3) Mike Wiarda, (4) Gary Gorby, (5) Delbert Smith, (6) Jacob Magee, (7) Scott Phillips, (8) Brad Wagoner, (9) Chris Avery, (10) Wylan Petrie, (11) Dan Smith, (12) Tim Hans, (13) Dustin Beffert, (14) Jeremy Petty. Scratched: Dean Moore, Les Seibert, John Anderson, David Conkwright. Heat race winners (among 18 cars): Moore, Junghans.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728