Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Flint Creek Speedway

Reigning champ ends drought on MARS

July 6, 2013, 5:20 am
From series and other reports
Jesse Stovall's team enjoys victory lane at West Siloam Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)
Jesse Stovall's team enjoys victory lane at West Siloam Speedway. (Ron Mitchell)

WEST SILOAM SPRINGS, Okla. (July 5) — Reigning MARS DIRTcar Series champion Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., ended his season-long drought on the series Friday with a victory in the opener of a doubleheader weekend at West Siloam Speedway. | Slideshow

Driving Shane Essary's No. 15 car instead of his traditional No. 00, Stovall took the lead after pole-starting Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., had a flat tire while leading and secured the $2,000 payday, ending the three-race win streak on the series of Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon, Mo.

Tommy Weder Jr. of Woodward, Okla., was second followed by Brantlee Gotschall of Nevada, Mo. Raymond Merrill of Sallisaw, Okla., and Timothy Culp of West Monroe, La., rounded out the top five.

Jackson, winner of the previous three series events in Corning, Iowa, Monett, Mo., and Wichita, Kan., finished sixth. Looney ended up 14th.

MARS competitors battle for a $3,000 winner’s purse Saturday at West Siloam, which reopened this spring after being closed since 2011.

Notes: Stovall drove a Victory Circle Chassis. ... Stovall’s only previous feature victory this season came June 21 in Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association action at Humboldt (Kan.) Speedway. ... Stovall has 13 career MARS victories, fifth on the all-time list. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Glenn Bratti, Houston Garrison and Jason Redman. ... The series completes the four-race holiday weekend with a $3,000-to-win feature Saturday at West Siloam.

MARS @ West Siloam: (1) Jesse Stovall, (2) Tommy Weder Jr., (3) Brantlee Gotschall, (4) Raymond Merrill, (5) Timothy Culp, (6) Tony Jackson Jr., (7) Wendell Wallace, (8) Terry Phillips, (9) Coleman Younger, (10) Brandon Morton, (11) Justin Asplin, (12) Randy Roth, (13) Dustin Walker, (14) Brad Looney, (15) Jon Driskill, (16) Leroy Johnson, (17) Ryan Gustin, (18) Jeff Roth, (19) Steve Johnson, (20) Justin Wells, (21) Christopher Reese. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Gotschall, Looney, Stovall. Consolation winner: Walker. Provisional starter: Johnson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728