Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Luxemburg Speedway

Diemel capture Corn Belt Clash's holiday opener

July 5, 2013, 6:08 am
From series reports
A.J. Diemel visits Luxemburg's victory lane. (danlewisphoto.net)
A.J. Diemel visits Luxemburg's victory lane. (danlewisphoto.net)

LUXEMBURG, Wis. (July 4) — A.J. Diemel of Navarino, Wis., notched his first Corn Belt Clash victory Thursday as the Iowa-based circuit invaded Wisconsin for a three-race holiday weekend. The pole-starting Diemel earned $3,000 for the victory.

Fellow Navarino driver Nick Anvelink finished second while seventh-starting Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., finished third. Shawano, Wis., drivers Tom Naeyaert and Troy Springborn rounded out the top five while three-time series champ Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, who started 18th, was the best finishing series regular.

Diemel took control from the outset and kept Anvelink in check the whole way while Feger and Simpson moved toward the front throughout the race. The leader’s biggest scare came when his nosepiece was damaged in a tangle with the lapped car of Doug Herrick to draw a caution, but he was able to continue and wrap up the victory.

Notes: Diemel’s MB Customs Chassis is powered by a Speedwerx powerplant and sponsored by Beltline Body Shop, Joe Provo Racewear, Nolan Livestock, Mars Race Cars and Keyser Mfg. ... The series made its first visit to Luxemberg. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Pete Parker, Ron Berna, Jeff Curtin, Jim Letizia, Mike Fryer, Jim Schmidt, Justin Hirt, Mark Ross, Bret Swedberg, Eric Michael and Aaron Holiday. ... Series competitors stay in Luxemburg for July 5’s $5,000-to-win event before heading to Sheboygan County Fair Park in Plymouth, Wis., for a $3,000-to-win event July 6.

Corn Belt Clash @ Luxemburg: (1) A.J. Diemel, (2) Nick Anvelink, (3) Jason Feger, (4) Tom Naeyaert, (5) Troy Springborn, (6) Chad Simpson, (7) Chris Simpson, (8) Justin Ritchie, (9) Jason Utter, (10) Ricky Weiss, (11) Matt Furman, (12) Joe Reuter, (13) Russ Scheffler, (14) Robby Bunkelman, (15) Paul Parker, (16) Dave Eckrich, (17) Doug Blashe, (18) Tim Buhler, (19) Brad Mueller, (20) Chris Oertel, (21) Brunson Behning, (22) Bob Cullen, (23) Doug Herrick, (24) Jake Meier. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Cullen, Anvelink, Diemel, Naeyaert. Consolation winners: Utter, Chad Simpson. Dash winner: Diemel.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728