Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Marion Center Speedway

Claar dominates, collects $3,000 at Marion Center

July 4, 2013, 10:19 am
From track reports
Shawn Claar celebrates at Marion Center. (stivasonphotos.com)
Shawn Claar celebrates at Marion Center. (stivasonphotos.com)

MARION CENTER, Pa. (July 3) — On a Wednesday night when heavy rain threatened to stop Marion Center Speedway’s Independence Day special, nothing could stop Shawn Claar of Imler, Pa.

Starting outside the front row, Claar led all 35 laps for a $3,000 victory in the event sponsored Marc Sallack Well Services and Trucking to reach the Integra Racing Shocks Winner’s circle. | Weekly results | Slideshow

Matt Lux of Franklin, Pa., finished second on the high-speed oval, taking the spot from Clate Copeman of Greensburg, Pa., on the final lap. Pole-starting Doug Glessner of Johnstown, Pa., and hometown driver Dave Blazavich rounded out the top five.

Several early scrambles hampered attempts to get the race started, eliminating Jim Boyer and Shane McMeans before they completed a lap.

Notes: Claar’s MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Shawn Claar Logging, MasterSbilt by Huey and Miller Lite. ... Sixth-place finisher Matt Gaston of Rochester Mills, Pa., rallied after winning the consolation race. ... Clate Copeman leads Gaston in Marion Center’s weekly points chase. ... Marion Center returns to action July 6. ... The next Super Late Model special is scheduled for Aug. 17.

Independence Day Special: (1) Shawn Claar, (2) Matt Lux, (3) Clate Copeman, (4) Doug Glessner, (5) Dave Blazavich, (6) Matt Gaston, (7) Jared Miley, (8) Mike Blose, (9) Billy Eash, (10) Doug Eck, (11) Bernie Whiteford, (12) Jeff Weakland, (13) Dane Laraway, (14) John Myers, (15) Joe Petyak, (16) Bill Burns, (17) Chad Helman, (18) Tom Shaffer, (19) Gregg Satterlee, (20) Rod Phillips, (21) Joe Zulisky, (22) Dwayne Brooks, (23) Ron Delano Jr., (24) Jim Boyer, (25) Shane McMeans. Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Laraway, Claar, Glessner, Miley. Consolation winner: Gaston.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728