Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1140
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Deer Creek Speedway

Kaanta tops Prochnow at Deer Creek

June 30, 2013, 12:48 pm
From series and team reports
Winner John Kaanta (85) battles third-place finisher Zach Johnson (73). (jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)
Winner John Kaanta (85) battles third-place finisher Zach Johnson (73). (jdphotosports.photoreflect.com)

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. (June 29) — Four-time and reigning series champion John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., notched his first Blaine Brothers Challenge Series victory in nearly a year Saturday at Deer Creek Speedway. | Slideshow

Kaanta raced from his third starting spot to outrun front-row starters Mike Prochnow of Menomonie, Wis., and Zach Johnson of Kensington, Minn., in the 40-lap feature at the 3/8-mile oval. Fifth-starting Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., was fourth and Lance Matthees of Winona, Minn., rounded out the top five.

Kaanta earned $3,000 for his first series victory since July 2, 1012, at Eagle Valley Speedway in Jim Falls, Wis.

Prochnoew jumped into the early lead with Kaanta and Johnson battling for second early. Kaanta got that spot while Redetzke and Matthees joined them in the top five.

After a lap-13 restart, Matthees moved into the third spot, overtaking Johnson, but the drivers were reversed when another yellow waved and raced restarted on lap 18. Not long after, Redetzke moved Matthees back to fifth.

On lap 27, Kaanta turned up the heat on Prochnow. He took command on lap 29 and slowed pulled away to secure the victory.

Notes: Kaanta’s MB Customs chassis is sponsored by Mars Race Cars, Joe Provo Racewear, C&D Trucking, Brown Engineering Racing Engines, CMD Race Shocks, Brent Wachsmuth Excavating, Trucking & Concrete, Chad’s Towing & Recovery, Don’s Sheet Metal, FYE Motorsports Promotions, GRP Motorsports, Institute for Graduate Studies and Rick’s Auto Care Center. ... Kaanta has 22 career series victories, six shy of all-time leader Pat Doar of New Richmond, Wis. ... The track drew 127 cars among seven divisions. ... Friday’s series event at Red Cedar Speedway in Menomonie was rained out. .. The tour takes July off and returns to action with an Aug. 13-14 weekend at Casino Speedway in Watertown, S.D., and Brown County Speedway in Aberdeen, S.D. ... Deer Creek host the World of Outlaws Late Model Series Gopher 50 charity race on July 6, paying $10,000-to-win.

BBCS @ Deer Creek: (1) John Kaanta, (2) Mike Prochnow, (3) Zach Johnson, (4) Jake Redetzke, (5) Lance Matthees, (6) Nate Beyenhof, (7) Adam Hensel, (8) Justin Sass, (9) Nick Beyehhof, (10) Robby Bunkelman, (11) Eric Breeschoten, (12) Eric Pember, (13) David McDonald, (14) Neil Eckhart, (15) Nick Kramer, (16) Dennis Hillson, (17) Jeff Sayler, (18) Jordan Yaggy, (19) Nick Herrick, (20) Joe Ludemann, (21) Jerry Bloom. Heat race winners (among 21 cars): Prochnow, Matthees, Kaanta.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728