Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

BAPS Motor Speedway

Knaub grabs $1,500 victory at Susquehanna

June 30, 2013, 5:07 am
From track reports
Gene Knaub won June 29's Steel Block Bandits feature. (Larry Shank)
Gene Knaub won June 29's Steel Block Bandits feature. (Larry Shank)

NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. (June 29) — Pole-starting Gene Knaub of Dover, Pa., led all 30 laps Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park for his first Steel Block Bandits victory of the season. Knaub earned $1,500. | Slideshow

Chase Billet finished second followed by Randy Christine Jr., J.R. Rodriguez and reigning series champ Andy Fries in a race littered by cautions for several spins.

Knaub led from the start and stayed in control through a series of restarts in claiming his third SSP victory of the seaon. Billet grabbed the second spot on lap 17 but couldn’t overtake Knaub.

Christine and Rodriguez battled side-by-side late with Christine edging Rodriguez by about a foot at the finish line.

Notes: Knaub’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Superior Homes. ... Rain hit midway through the features, postponing three lower division races. ... Dan Zechman won J.R. Paving’s Hard Charger honors with his 20th-to-eighth run. ... Next up for the Steel Block Bandits is a July 12-13 weekend at Path Valley Speedway in Spring Run, Pa., and Hill Valley Speedway in Orbisonia, Pa.

Steel Block Bandits @ Susquehanna: (1) Gene Knaub, (2) Chase Billet, (3) Randy Christine Jr., (4) J.R. Rodriguez, (5) Andy Fries, (6) Chris Knopp, (7) Robbie Emory, (8) Dan Zechman, (9) Tim Murphy, (10) Courtney Shreiner, (11) Ben Whitaker, (12) Rick Hulson, (13) Dominic Defino, (14) Kyle Martin, (15) Kris Eaton, (16) Matt Nailor, (17) Denny Bonebrake, (18) Colby Frye, (19) Nathan Ottensmyer, (20) John Moser Jr., (21) Ralph Morgan, (22) Jake Moser, (23) Eddie Drury, (24) Bruce Kane, (25) Justin Ehrhart. Scratched: Billy Wampler. Heat race winners (among 26 cars): Knaub, Eaton, Frye, Murphy.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728