Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 605
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Roundup of Lucas Oil Series points chases

June 27, 2013, 10:36 am
From series reports

A rundown of points chases on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series through 18 series events (see complete points totals at lucasdirt.com/point-standings):

Lucas Oil Championship: Two-time and reigning champ Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., has 2,935 points to lead the tour, but his margin has dwindled to 85 points over John Blankenship (2,850) in recent weeks. Steve Francis (2,775), Don O’Neal (2,765) and Dennis Erb Jr. (2,730), a four-time winner along with Owens, hold the top five spots. The top six drivers are separated by 225 points.

JRi Shocks Rookie of the Year: Billy Moyer Jr. of Batesville, Ark., has 2,215 points to lead the award presented by Dunn-Benson Ford. He’s the only contender after the departure of Illinois rookies Bobby Pierce and Jason McBride.

ASi Racewear Crown Jewel Cup presented by DirtonDirt.com and Sweet Mfg. TV Challenge presented by E3 Spark Plugs: After two races, Owens has 460-395 lead over Erb in both categories.

Sunoco Race for Gas: Owens has 58 points to lead Earl Pearson Jr. (53) and Austin Hubbard (20).

Keyser Mfg. Point Leader Challenge: Owens leads the new category for the driver leading the point standings at most events, 9-4 over O’Neal. The points leader’s car carries a day-glo orange spoiler and the driver leading the points most of the season receives $2,500 cash and a $2,500 product award from Keyser.

Allstar Performer of the Year: Earl Pearson Jr. leads with 4 points over John Blankenship (2).

Red Buck Fast Time Awards: Pierce leads with three over Scott Bloomquist (20) and Pearson (2).

Optima Batteries Hard Charger: Mike Marlar leads with 34 points over Bloomquist (33) and Erb (22).

Wiles Driveshafts Heat Winners: O’Neal and Francis lead with six heat victories apiece over Pearson (5) and four drivers with three each.

Outerwears Crew Chief of the Year: Chris Fox, crew chief for Owens, leads with 3 points. Tom Buckingham (Blankenship’s crew chief) and Heather Lyne (Erb’s crew chief) have 2 points apiece.

Ohlins Shocks Chassis Builder: Bloomquist Race Cars is on top with 86 points to lead Rocket Chassis (69), MasterSbilt Race Cars (67), Barry Wright Race Cars (63), Longhorn Chassis (59), Pierce Race Cars (30) and Rayburn Race Cars (14).

Comp Cams Engine Builder of the Year: Cornett Race Engines is out front with 81 points over Jay Dickens Racing Engines (72), Roush Yates (69), Kuntz & Co. (64), Pro Power (61), Gaerte (19) and Race Engine Design (14).

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728