Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Talladega Short Track

Weaver captures TST's B.J. Parker Memorial

June 23, 2013, 4:46 am
From series reports
Randy Weaver celebrates in victory lane at Talladega. (Heath Lawson)
Randy Weaver celebrates in victory lane at Talladega. (Heath Lawson)

EASTABOGA, Ala. (June 22) — Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tenn., captured Saturday’s second annual B.J. Parker Memorial to notch his fourth consecutive Southern All Star Racing Series victory at Talladega Short Track.

Weaver started third and raced past the unrelated front-row starting Wilsons — fast qualifier Chris Wilson of Crossville and Jason Wilson of Margaret, Ala. — for a $4,200 victory in a 42-lap feature that honored the series founder and famed promoter who once drove a No. 42 race car. | Slideshow

Series rookie Jason Hiett of Oxford, Ala., who started on the second row with Weaver, finished second while Tim Roszell of Anniston, Ala., advanced three positions to finish third. Ninth-starting Tim Busha of Boaz, Ala., and William Thomas of Phenix City, Ala., rounded out the top five finishers. Series points leader Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., was eighth.

Weaver earned his second series victory of the season and 22nd of his career, ranking him sixth all-time on the tour’s victory list.

Chris Wilson led the first seven laps before Weaver took control. The race's only caution appeared on the 15th lap for Dylan Ames, and Weaver fought off Hiett's challenges in the race's late stages.

Notes: Weaver’s GRT Race Cars is powered by a Cornett-built Ford powerplant and sponsored by Outlaw Race Parts, A.F. Stone Professional Medical Services, Stone Land Clearing and Excavating, Ohlins Shocks, Hoosier Tire and VP Racing Fuel. ... Weaver is a victory shy of climbing into the top five in history of tour winners. ... Seven of 23 starters completed 42 laps and 17 were running at the finish. ... SAS competitors move to Tazewell (Tenn.) Speedway on July 3 for a $4,000-to-win program.

B.J. Parker Memorial: (1) Randy Weaver, (2) Jason Hiett, (3) Tim Roszell, (4) Tim Busha, (5) William Thomas, (6) Jason Wilson, (7) Chris Wilson, (8) Riley Hickman, (9) Bret Holmes, (10) Todd Morrow, (11) Ronnie Johnson, (12) Adam Martin, (13) Danny Peoples, (14) Brandon Kinzer, (15) Mike Weeks, (16) Mark Rosner, (17) Chris Thomas, (18) T.J. Alford, (19) Jake Knowles, (20) Terry Smith, (21) Dylan Ames, (22) Matt Dooley, (23) Doug King. Scratched: George Buddy. Fast qualifier (among 27 cars): Wilson, 13.384 seconds. Consolation race winners: Busha, Hickman. Provisional starters: Rosner, Peoples.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728