Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Adrian Speedway

Adrian MLRA events still belong to Phillips

May 18, 2008, 2:49 am
From series reports
Terry Phillips earned $3,000. (fasttrackphotos.net)
Terry Phillips earned $3,000. (fasttrackphotos.net)

ADRIAN, Mo. (May 17) — Three-time series champion Terry Phillips of Springfield, Mo., maintained his dominance in O'Reilly Midwest LateModel Racing Association action at Adrian Speedway with a $3,000 victory in the Jack Vaughn Memorial. Phillips started on the pole and led all 40 laps in capturing his fourth consecutive series victory at the quarter-mile oval.

Denny Woodworth of Quincy, Ill., got within striking distance of Phillips amid lapped traffic a dozen laps into the race, but Phillips edged away before a lap-24 caution flag. Woodworth had his hands full with John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., and later Phillips's teammate Jeremy Payne, who rallied from mid-pack into the battle for second halfway in the race's late stages. A lap-36 caution bunched the field, but Phillips pulled away for a victory over Anderson, Woodworth, Payne and Jerry Warner of La Vista, Neb.

Notes: The winning GRT Race Car has a Hatfield engine and sponsorship from Andy's Frozen Custard. ... Phillips won in the fall of 2006 at Adrian as well as two 2007 events. ... Brantlee Gotschall picked up the $1,000 Midwest Walnut Lucky Stars award. ... MLRA competitors join other series for the May 25 Alphabet Soup Classic at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb. The winner will collect $5,000.

MLRA @ Adrian: (1) Terry Phillips, (2) John Anderson, (3) Denny Woodworth, (4) Jeremy Payne, (5) Jerry Warner, (6) Brent Kreke, (7) David Turner, (8) Eric Anderson, (9) P.J. Haskins, (10) David Barker, (11) Aaron Seabaugh, (12) Ken Essary, (13) Alan Vaughn, (14) Brantlee Gotschall, (15) Scott Daly, (16) Bill Koons, (17) Trace Westling, (18) Ben Schaller, (19) Chris Hawkins, (20) Larry Clawson, (21) Larry Clawson Jr., (22) Dale Dickinson, (23) Greg Choate. Heat race winners: Woodworth, Anderson, Phillips, Haskins.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728