Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Norman County Raceway

Zach Johnson grabs second straight NLRA victory

June 20, 2013, 6:21 am
By Chris Stepan
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

ADA, Minn. (June 19) — Pole-starting Zach Johnson of Kensington, Minn., led all but one lap Wednesday at Norman County Raceway for his second straight Northern LateModel Racing Association victory. He earned $1,100 for the 30-lap victory.

Former series champion Ricky Weiss of Winnipeg, Manitoba, briefly slipped ahead of Johnson after a lap-21 restart, but Johnson regained the lead and raced to his ninth career victory on the NLRA circuit.

Weiss battled side-by-side with Dustin Strand of Grand Forks, N.D., most of the race with the fifth-starting Strand earning the running spot at the finish. Weiss, Brad Seng of Grand Forks and five-time World of Outlaws Sprint Car champ Donny Schatz of Fargo, N.D., rounded out the top five at the 3/8-mile oval set to host three NLRA races in 2013.

Two cautions slowed the feature. Brian Strand broke down on lap 21, while Joey Pederson and Jeff Provinzino tangled for a lap-28 yellow.

Notes: Johnson’s No. 73 Pierce Race Car is sponsored by Glenwood State Bank, Midwest Grain Services and Elite Shock Services. ... Johnson previously won May 26 at Viking Speedway in Alexandria, Minn. ... This marks his third career multiple-victory season with NLRA. ... Fifth-place finisher Donny Schatz has made a handful of starts, with a couple of victories, in his Club 29 Rocket Chassis. He plans to compete in the next NLRA event, too. ... The series returns to Norman County on July 18 and Aug. 8. ... NLRA competitors head to River Cities Speedway in Grand Forks, N.D., on Friday another $1,100-to-win event.

NLRA @ Norman County: (1) Zach Johnson, (2) Dustin Strand, (3) Ricky Weiss, (4) Brad Seng, (5) Donny Schatz, (6) Cody Skytland, (7) Mike Balcaen, (8) Bill Mooney, (9) Jeff Provinzino, (10) Brian Bernotas, (11) Troy Schill, (12) Zach Wohlers, (13) Steve Anderson, (14) Steve Grabow, (15) Norman Olson, (16) Jeffrey Hapala, (17) Jason Grabow, (18) Cole Schill, (19) Billy Michaelsohn, (20) Joey Pederson, (21) Jake Bitker, (22) Steffen Snare, (23) Shane Edginton, (24) Brian Strand, (25) Michael Johnson, (26) Josh Johnson, (27) Tom Corcoran, (28) Dusty Peterson. Heat race winners (among 28 cars): Seng, Z. Johnson, Skytland, Weiss.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728