Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

West Liberty Raceway

Make it four consecutive for Harris on Deery tour

June 19, 2013, 7:32 am
From series reports
Brian Harris shows off his big check at West Liberty. (Rick Neff)
Brian Harris shows off his big check at West Liberty. (Rick Neff)

WEST LIBERTY, Iowa (June 18) — Going into Tuesday night’s Deery Brothers Summer Series event, Brian Harris said West Liberty Raceway was one of his favorite racetracks. He has even more reasons to like it now.

The 34-year-old driver from Davenport, Iowa, captured a record-tying fourth consecutive IMCA Late Model tour feature at West Liberty, going back and forth with Andy Eckrich of Oxford, Iowa, for the lead midway through the 40-lapper before settling into the front spot and running away with the $3,000 checkers. | Slideshow

Next, Harris will try to set the new record of five straight series wins when Independence Motor Speedway hosts the tour July 2.

Pole-starting Nick Marolf of Moscow, Iowa, had his sights set on being the driver to end Harris’ streak, looking strong while leading the first 12 circuits.

Eckrich pressured Marolf before enjoying a brief run at the front of his own. That’s when the 10th-starting Harris joined the mix, swapping the lead with Eckrich six times over the course of the next seven laps.

Harris was the leader when the one and only caution of the night came out on lap 24. He checked out from that point on, winning easily ahead of Eckrich.

Justin Kay of Wheatland, Iowa, completed a late-race bid for third, Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill., was fourth and Marolf was fifth.

The record of wins in four consecutive Deery Series events was set by Gary Webb in 1994 and first matched by Rob Toland in 2004. Now the owner of nine career tour wins, Harris remains the point leader heading to Independence for the eighth of 17 events on the 2013 schedule.

Notes: Harris drives a Lynn and Karen Richard-owned No. 15r sponsored by Richard Realty & Auction, Shottenkirk Automotive Group, Roehlk Construction, Trump Trucks, Floyd’s Waste Disposal Services and Great River Spine Clinic. ... Ray Guss Jr. was the hard charger, advancing 11 positions from his original starting spot. .... Dan Shelliam was the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Chad Holladay, Tim Simpson, Marty Diercks, Chad Lerch, Jeremiah Hurst, Jonathan Brauns and Luke Pestka. ... The next series event July 2 at Independence (Iowa) Motor Speedway pays $3,000-to-win with gates opening at 5 p.m.; hot laps are at 6:45 p.m.

Deery Brothers @ West Liberty: (1) Brian Harris, (2) Andy Eckrich, (3) Justin Kay, (4) Ray Guss Jr., (5) Nick Marolf, (6) Kyle Hinrichs, (7) Joel Callahan, (8) Ron Boyse, (9) Tom Goble, (10) Kevin Kile, (11) Nate Beuseling, (12) Colby Springsteen, (13) Rob Moss, (14) Tommy Elston, (15) Jeff Aikey, (16) Darrel DeFrance, (17) Spencer Diercks, (18) Dan Shelliam, (19) Tyler Bruening, (20) Jay Chenoweth, (21) Jason Utter, (22) Denny Eckrich, (23) Jay Johnson, (24) Matt Ryan. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Utter, Harris, Hinrichs, Bruening. Consolation winners: Callahan, Beuseling. Provisional starters: Springsteen, Moss, Chenoweth.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728