Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Beckley Motorsports Park

Dohm strikes Black Gold again, collects $10,000

June 16, 2013, 6:54 am
From track and other reports
Winner Zack Dohm (17) goes under Kennie Compton Jr. (10) at Beckley. (peepingdragonphotography.com)
Winner Zack Dohm (17) goes under Kennie Compton Jr. (10) at Beckley. (peepingdragonphotography.com)

BECKLEY, W.Va. (June 15) — Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., struck gold again at Beckley Motorsports Park. The Black Gold 50, that is.

Racing to the front from his seventh starting spot, Dohm collected $10,000 at the 3/8-mile oval for the second straight season with his unsanctioned 50-lap victory. Dohm took the checkers ahead of third-starting Josh McGuire of Grayson, Ky., in the track’s richest event of the season. | Slideshow

David Watts of Buckhannon, W.Va., advanced 11 positions to finish third while Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., improved seven spot for fourth. Hometown driver Rick Williams started outside the front row and rounded out the top five.

Pole-starting Kennie Compton Jr. of Bland, Va., who earned $600 for a victory in Saturday’s dash along with $2,000 in Friday’s tuneup feature, was eighth in the 20-car field.

Notes: Dohm drove a Rocket Chassis with a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsorship from T&R Logging, A&K Trucking and Dohm Graphics. ...� Fast qualifier Chris Meadows finished seventh. ... Fourteen of 20 starters were running at the finish. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Travis Brookover, Rick Lucas, Marshall Wiblin, Delmas Conley, Frankie Johnston, Rickey Strattis, Brock Morris and Brad Jarrell.

Black Gold 50: (1) Zack Dohm, (2) Josh McGuire, (3) David Watts, (4) Jared Hawkins, (5) Rick Williams, (6) Chris Ferguson, (7) Chris Meadows, (8) Kennie Compton Jr., (9) Jonathan Davenport, (10) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (11) Chuck Harper, (12) Robbie Scott, (13) Steve Lucas, (14) Tyler Cox, (15) Kenney Newhouse, (16) Mike Benedum, (17) Rod Evans, (18) Jeff Lilly, (19) Wayne Hughes, (20) Nick Dohm. Fast qualifier (among 28 cars): Meadows, 13.887 seconds. Heat race winners: Z. Dohm, Lucas, Wilmoth. Consolation winners: N. Dohm, Ferguson. Dash winner: Compton.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728