Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Southern New Mexico Speedway

Jones halts Whitwell's sweep at Las Cruces

June 16, 2013, 6:41 am
From series reports
Bumper Jones won at Southern New Mexico Speedway. (jimrosasphotography.com)
Bumper Jones won at Southern New Mexico Speedway. (jimrosasphotography.com)

LAS CRUCES, N.M. (June 15) — Home-track modified racer Bumper Jones of Mesilla Park, N.M., grabbed a Saturday Late Model victory at Southern New Mexico Speedway on the Championship Dirt Motorsports tour.

Jones, who started outside the front row, took the checkers ahead of 11th-starting R.C. Whitwell of Tucson, Ariz., who was going for a sweep of a two-race CDM weekend. Whitwell won the previous night at El Paso Speedway Park.

Jones pocketed $1,200 for the victory over Whitwell while hometown driver Garrett Alberson was third for his second top-three finish of the weekend. Lonnie Parker Jr. of EL Mirage, Ariz., and 18th-starting Brad Williams of Tucson, Ariz., rounded out the top five in events co-sanctioned by the Southwest Dirt Racing Association.

CDM @ Southern New Mexico: (1) Bumper Jones, (2) R.C. Whitwell, (3) Garrett Alberson, (4) Lonnie Parker Jr., (5) Brad Williams, (6) Joey Moriarty, (7) Scott Lewis, (8) Sherman Barnett, (9) Bruce Duckett, (10) Jimmy Ray, (11) Scott Logston, (12) Dave Deetz, (13) James Laing, (14) Walton Kyle Jr., (15) Steve Francis, (16) Donnie Newcombe, (17) Isreal Ortega, (18) Cliff Hansen, (19) Alan Bowers, (20) Sean Bray, (21) Xavier Ortega, (22) Fito Gallardo, (23) Jonathon Ortega. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): Moriarty, Parker, Jones.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728