Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cedar Lake Speedway

Redetzke nabs $3,000 at Cedar Lake Triple Crown

June 3, 2013, 12:17 pm
By Greg Parent
Cedar Lake Speedway

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. (June 1) — Jake Redetzke of Eau Claire, Wis., won a mid-race duel with fellow front-row starter John Kaanta of Elk Mound, Wis., for a $3,000 victory in the NASCAR Late Model portion of Cedar Lake Speedway’s second annual Triple Crown.

Redetzke too the checkers in the 40-lap feature over Darrell Nelson of Hermantown, Minn., while Kaanta settled for third. Chad Mahder of Eau Claire and Eric Pember of Pittsville, Wis., rounded out the top five finishers.

Kaanta and Redetzke lined up on the front row with Redetzke roaring to the early lead while Kaanta, Pember and Nelson gave chase. While the frontrunners worked lapped traffic, Kaanta was able to move past Redetzke and into the lead on lap 17.

Still among slower cars, Redetzke got back by Kaanta on lap 22 and led the rest of the caution-free feature. Nelson took second from Kaanta on lap 23 and held on to the runner-up spot the rest of the way. Nineteen of 24 starters finished, 13 on the lead lap on a cool spring evening.

In the night’s other Triple Crown features, 16-year-old Lucas Schott of Chatfield, Minn., earned $5,000 for his victory in the NASCAR-sanctioned modified portion of the program, while five-time series champion Billy Balog of North Pole, Alaska, lapped all but five drivers in the IRA sprint car feature to pocket $3,000.

Notes: Redetzke’s MB Customs car has a Wegner Automotive Research powerplant and sponsorship from Champ Pans, J&D Mfg., Curt Inc., Toys Scrap & Salvage and Rolly’s Coach Club. ... Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis., started 12th and finished sixth. ... A.J. Diemel of Navarino, Wis., who finished 10th, drove a team car for consolation winner Chris Olson. ... Joe Stariha of Como Oil and Propane provided extra purse money in the modified feature along with covering the cost of temporary NASCAR license fees for visiting drivers. ... There were four caution among 110 feature race laps in all divisions. ... Drivers failing to make the Late Model feature lineup: Justin Ochsner and Bryan Wennen. ... Cedar Lake returns to regular-season action June 8. ... The 15th annual Masters on June 13-15 includes a pair of UMP DIRTcar Summernationals events paying $5,000- and $10,000-to-win.

Cedar Lake Triple Crown: (1) Jake Redetzke, (2) Darrell Nelson, (3) John Kaanta, (4) Chad Mahder, (5) Eric Pember, (6) Tim Isenberg, (7) Pat Doar, (8) Brent Larson, (9) Steve Laursen, (10) A.J. Diemel, (11) Mike Nutzmann, (12) Steve Isenberg, (13) Rick Hanestad, (14) Todd Frank, (15) Greg Nippoldt, (16) Jeff Keeney, (17) Riley Matthews, (18) Jim Carlson, (19) Trevor Wilson, (20) Don Shaw, (21) Marshall Fegers, (22) Chris Olson, (23) Aaron Lillo, (24) Ben Hanke. Heat race winners (among 26 cars): Kaanta, Redetzke, Pember. Consolation winner: Olson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728