Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Wartburg Speedway

King rules Wartburg for first SRRS win

May 10, 2008, 10:09 am
By Chris Tilley
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

WARTBURG, Tenn. (May 9) — Leading all 50 laps at Wartburg Speedway, polesitter Brandon King of Decatur, Ala., raced to his first career victory on the PPM Racing Products Southern Regional Racing Series to earn $3,000. King outran reigning SRRS champion and fellow Alabama driver Byron Michael throughout a race slowed by four cautions.

Tony Morris of Murfreesboro, Tenn., who swapped positions twice with 11th-starting Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn., in the final 19 laps, was third while Marlar, who grazed the turn-one wall to lose a spot on lap 47. Late Model rookie Shon Flanary of Mount Carmel, Tenn., rounded out the top five in a feature that didn't begin until nearly 1 a.m.

Notes: Winner Brandon King's MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by Empire CNC Services. ... Anthony White started 20th and rallied to finish sixth. ... Four cautions slowed the action between laps 13-31, none for serious incidents. ... Dale McDowell was running sixth when he pulled out on the 13th lap. ... Tony Morris was running second early but was penalized a position for jumping a restart. ... Joe Armes scratched for the night before his consolation race. ... SRRS competitors head to Milan (Tenn.) Speedway for a $5,000-to-win event on May 17.

SRRS @ Wartburg: (1) Brandon King, (2) Byron Michael, (3) Tony Morris, (4) Mike Marlar, (5) Shon Flanary, (6) Anthony White, (7) Eric Hickerson, (8) Ben Kittrell, (9) Jimmy Tucker, (10) Perry Delaney, (11) Seth Daniel, (12) Kelly Hanvey, (13) Billy Ogle Jr., (14) Matthew Langley, (15) April Farmer, (16) Mike Luna, (17) Jay Brinkley, (18) Tim Damron, (19) Ray McElhiney, (20) Steve Smith, (21) Ruben Mayfield, (22) Dale McDowell, (23) Mike Weeks, (24) Riley Hickman. Fast qualifier (among 25 cars): King. Consolation winners: Tucker, McDowell.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728