Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series

Feger's WoO penalties upheld by appeals board

May 2, 2013, 5:12 pm
From series reports

A three-member World Racing Group appeals board unanimously upheld Jason Feger’s disqualification from the Illini 100, the World of Outlaws Late Model Series announced Thursday.

The board reviewed the case regarding a tire the Bloomington, Ill., driver used in winning the April 6 event at Farmer City (Ill.) Raceway that failed a laboratory test for chemical softening agents, upholding penalties that included the loss of all purse money ($20,050) and WoO points earned; a fine of $3,000; loss of 1,000 WoO championship points for the 2013 season; and a suspension from all WoO and UMP DIRTcar Late Model-sanctioned events for three consecutive months (effective May 1-Aug. 1). | Penalties heighten tire-cheating concerns

In addition, following the conclusion of the suspension Feger will be placed on probation for the remainder of the 2013 racing season.

Feger, 34, reserves the right to appeal to the Chairman Potestas, Rolling Helmling, according to section 12 of the WoO rulebook. He said after the original disqualification that he believes chemicals in cleaning products used to wash the tire triggered the failed lab test.

Two samples of the right-front tire that was on Feger’s car when he won the third 15-lap heat race for the Illini 100 on April 5 were taken by series tech inspector Jim Harrah and sent to a lab for chemical analysis. After both samples failed to satisfy the benchmark standards for a Hoosier LM-20 tire, WoO officials were forced to take action against Feger for violating the circuit’s rules prohibiting the altering of tire compounds.

With Feger’s disqualification upheld, apparent race runner-up Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., becomes a three-time winner of the Illini 100 and all competitors move up one spot in the finishing order. Feger is placed last in the finishing order.

The appeal board was made up of Erica Bicknell, Mark Mockovak, A.J. Moore with Joe Skotnicki serving as chairman and non-voting member.

Correction: Fixes effective dates of Feger's suspension.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728