Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Thunder Mountain Speedway

Berry wins WDRA opener at Thunder Mountain

May 5, 2008, 9:46 am
By Tom Freimann
Western Dirt Racing Association
Jeep Berry won the opener. (Tom Freimann)
Jeep Berry won the opener. (Tom Freimann)

OLATHE, Colo. (May 3) — Reigning Western Dirt Racing Association champion Jeep Berry of Grand Junction, Colo., raced to a victory in WDRA's season opener at Thunder Mountain Speedway. Jeff Davis of Aztec, N.M., finished second while Grand Junction driver Dean Moore, who spun midway through the race, rallied to finish third. Jason Davis of Grand Junction finished fourth and Curt Daniels of Paonia, Colo., rounded out the top five. Brothers Kyle and Andy Hill started on the front row, but both faded in the 13-car field.

Notes: WDRA has scrapped the pole dash for 2008 in favor of drawing for a random invert of the first four rows. ... Sunny skies and 60-degree temperatures greeted racers at the Sean Gibbs-owned track. ... Corey Smith of Helper, Utah, debuted a new all-black car. ... Michael Wright dropped out of the second heat when he lost a fuel pump belt. ... The series returns to Olathe for a May 23 event.

WDRA @ Thunder Mountain: (1) Jeep Berry, (2) Jeff Davis, (3) Dean Moore, (4) Jason Davis, (5) Curt Daniels, (6) Jason Schobinger, (7) Kim Horn, (8) Corey Smith, (9) Andy Hill, (10) Michael Wright, (11) Kyle Hill, (12) Ron Lengel, (13) Scott Aibner. Heat race winners: A. Hill, Berry.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728