Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Boyd's Speedway

Cabin Fever 40 marks Page's first SRRS victory

February 9, 2013, 8:15 pm
From series and correspondent reports
Michael Page (18) topped Feb. 9's Cabin Fever 40 field at Boyd's Speedway. (Mitchell Jenkins)
Michael Page (18) topped Feb. 9's Cabin Fever 40 field at Boyd's Speedway. (Mitchell Jenkins)

RINGGOLD, Ga. (Feb. 8) — Polesitter Michael Page of Douglasville, Ga., won Saturday’s Cabin Fever 40 at Boyd’s Speedway for his first career victory on the Southern Regional Racing Series. Page earned $3,000 for the afternoon victory in the season-opening event at the quarter-mile oval that drew 49 Super Late Models. | Slideshow

Fellow front-row starter Logan Yates of Delta, Ala., finished second in the 40-lapper while Hall of Famer Ronnie Johnson of nearby Chattanooga, Tenn., was third. William Thomas of Phenix City, Ala., and 11th-starting Jake Knowles of Tyrone, Ga., rounded out the top five finishers.

Reigning SRRS champion Riley Hickman of Ooltewah, Tenn., advanced five positions to finish eighth in the 2013 season opener on the Tennessee-based tour. Hickman was among several cars involved in a pileup in turns three and four on the eighth lap.

Notes: Page’s No. 18 is sponsored by Precision Race Cars and T&T Trucking. ... The winter event was postponed by weather on Jan. 26 and Feb. 2. ... SRRS competitors return to action March 10 at Lavonia (Ga.) Speedway, a $5,000-to-win race co-sanctioned by the Ultimate Super Late Model Series.

SRRS @ Boyd’s: (1) Michael Page, (2) Logan Yates, (3) Ronnie Johnson, (4) William Thomas, (5) Jake Knowles, (6) Donald McIntosh, (7) Johnny Cloer Jr., (8) Riley Hickman, (9) Adam Martin, (10) Jason Welshan, (11) Chip Brindle, (12) Josh Putnam, (13) Tod Hernandez, (14) Caleb Ashby, (15) Mack McCarter, (16) Jason Wilson, (17) Billy Ogle Jr., (18) Cory Hedgecock, (19) Scott Hall, (20) Josh Henry, (21) Scott Cook, (22) Lamar Scoggins, (23) Jay Brinkley, (24) Jacob Grizzle. Fast qualifier (among 49 cars in group qualifying): Knowles, Thomas, Ogle, Grizzle, Wilson. Heat race winners: Page, Yates, Johnson, Welshan, Henry.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728