Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Arizona Motorplex

Whitwell collects $6,500 at Carl Trimmer Classic

November 26, 2012, 6:02 am
From correspondent reports
R.C. Whitwell (24) leads Garrett Alberson (43) at Tucson. (raceimages.net)
R.C. Whitwell (24) leads Garrett Alberson (43) at Tucson. (raceimages.net)

TUCSON, Ariz. (Nov. 25) — Hometown driver R.C. Whitwell led all 74 laps of Sunday’s Carl Trimmer Classic at Tucson International Raceway for his richest victory of the season.

Whitwell collected $5,000 from the race purse of Tucson's three-day weekend along with a $1,500 bonus posted by an anonymous sponsor. | Slideshow

Whitwell took the checkers ahead of Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., and pole-starting Don Shaw of Ham Lake, Minn., who both picked up $1,200 preliminary victories in Friday and Saturday’s action at the 3/8-mile oval.

John Cornell of Waddell, Ariz., was fourth and Dean Moore of Grand Junction, Colo., rounded out the top five in the unsanctioned event. Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., pressured Whitwell from his runner-up spot but spun after making contact with the leader late in the race.

The feature was slowed by five cautions, all in the final 25 laps.

Notes: Whitwell’s Mike Tahtinen-owned GRT Race Car is sponsored by Sierra Mining & Crushing and Tahtinen Racing Engines. ... Whitwell finished fourth and second in preliminary features the previous two evenings. ... The 74 laps were in honor of the No. 74 Carl Trimmer previously drove. ... Nick Bartels piloted Bill Bartels' No. 77 on Sunday. ... Late Models return to Tucson for six DIRTcar-sanctioned events Jan. 12-20 at the DIRTcar Winter Extreme, and event expected to draw more than 50 Dirt Late Model teams from around the country.

Carl Trimmer Classic: (1) R.C. Whitwell, (2) Lonnie Parker Jr., (3) Don Shaw, (4) John Cornell, (5) Dean Moore, (6) Joey Moriarty, (7) Anthony Madrid, (8) Nick Bartels, (9) Rob Sanders, (10) James Chavez Jr., (11) Chris Duchac, (12) Bud Grossenbacher, (13) Karl Tipton, (14) Garrett Alberson, (15) Mike Balcaen, (16) Bucky Andrews, (17) Jeff Manka, (18) Bruce Duckett, (19) Rick Butler, (20) Cliff Hanson, (21) Dave Deetz, (22) James Laing. Preliminary feature winners (among 22 cars): Shaw, Parker. Consolation winner: Manka.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728