Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

County Line Raceway

Arthur crosses County Line, pockets $10,000

November 11, 2012, 8:16 am
From series reports
Walker Arthur enjoys victory lane. (focusedonracing.com)
Walker Arthur enjoys victory lane. (focusedonracing.com)

ELM CITY, N.C. (Nov. 9-10) — Walker Arthur entered the fall without a five-digit victory to his credit. Now the 27-year-old racer from Forest, Va., has a pair of $10,000 paydays.

Leading every lap from the pole position, Arthur dominated Saturday’s fourth annual Race for the Kids on the Ultimate Super Late Model Series. | Slideshow

Arthur, who swept the weekend by setting fast time and winning his heat race, added the victory to his $10,000 triumph on Oct. 6 at the Sunoco Fall Classic at his home-state Natural Bridge Speedway.

Billy Ogle Jr. of Knoxville, Tenn., rallied from the 10th starting spot to finish second, slipping past Casey Roberts of Toccoa, Ga., for runner-up honors in the 50-lapper’s closing stages. Roberts settled for third but held onto the Ultimate Series points lead and virtually wrapped up the tour’s title.

Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark., was fourth and Dustin Mitchell of Pine Level, N.C., rounded out the top five finishers in the 25-car field.

The feature was slowed by a pair of cautions, neither serious incidents.

Notes: Arthur’s MasterSbilt by Huey is powered by a Cams Racing Engine and sponsored by Cecil B. Arthur General Contracting, Walnut Ridge Kennels, All About Wraps, Goode Country Store and PMZ Group. ... The event benefitted children of the Victory Junction Gang Camp. ... Arthur's qualifying lap of 14.160 seconds broke Ray Tucker's previous record of 14.680 seconds. ... Only a Nov. 17 event at Screven Motor Speedway in Sylvania, Ga. remains on the Ultimate Series’ schedule; Casey Roberts will secure the series championship by taking the green flag.

Race for the Kids: (1) Walker Arthur, (2) Billy Ogle Jr., (3) Casey Roberts, (4) Jared Landers, (5) Dustin Mitchell, (6) Dennis Franklin, (7) Roger Lucas, (8) Daniel Baggerly, (9) Jeff Smith, (10) Ray Tucker, (11) Travis Hair, (12) Travis Yow, (13) Scott Autry, (14) Mike Gault, (15) Neal Sykes, (16) Casey Barrow, (17) Bobby Bottoms, (18) Zack Mitchell, (19) Greg Roberson, (20) Cy Nelms, (21) David Watts, (22) Luke Roffers, (23) Russell Erwin, (24) Christian Joyner, (25) Dave Hess Jr. Fast qualifier (among 35 cars): Arthur, 14.160 seconds. Heat race winners: Arthur, Franklin, Autry, Roberts. Consolation winners: Watts, J. Smith.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728