Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Tyler County Speedway

Red-hot Wilmoth covers Topless 50 field at Tyler

April 29, 2008, 9:14 am
From track reports

MIDDLEBOURNE, W.Va. (April 26) — Off to a hot start to his 2008 season, Paul Wilmoth Jr. of Clarksburg, W.Va., won the 14th annual Topless 50 at Tyler County Speedway to become the first three-time winner of the event. "I've been blessed," Wilmoth said in victory lane after leading every lap. "It just means so much to be the first three-time winner of this race, especially when you have the opportunity to race with guys like (Mike) Balzano, (Tim) Dohm and (Eddie) Carrier."

Wilmoth fought off several challenges from fellow front-row starter Balzano, of Parkersburg, W.Va., to earn the $4,000 winner's purse. Balzano finished second with Dohm, of Cross Lane, W.Va., Carrier, of Salt Rock, W.Va., and Doug Horton of Bruceton Mills, W.Va., rounding out the top five. The lone caution appeared on the 33rd lap when Josh McGuire of Ashland, Ky., came to a stop after his car glanced off the turn-one guardrail.

Notes: Wilmoth's winning Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Braden Drilling, Midcap Land & Timber, DKM Hauling and NAPA. ... Wilmoth has also won two straight events at Elkins (W.Va.) Motor Speedway. ... The event drew 116 race cars overall, including 32 Late Models. ... The track's next Late Model special is the Bullring Short Track Nationals, a $2,000-to-win event on May 25, a Sunday special at a track that normally runs Saturday nights.

Topless 50 @ Tyler County: (1) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (2) Mike Balzano, (3) Tim Dohm, (4) Eddie Carrier Jr., (5) Doug Horton, (6) Mark Banal, (7) Jared Hawkins, (8) Joe Loudin, (9) Steve Weigle, (10) Andy Bond, (11) Tim Senic, (12) Dusty Hamrick, (13) Butch McGill, (14) Josh McGuire, (15) Doug Eaton, (16) Steve Wilmoth, (17) Gary Midcap Jr., (18) Rick Williams. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): P. Wilmoth, Weigle, Balzano, Hawkins. Consolation race winners: Bond, McGill.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728