Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Delaware International Speedway

Elliott wins third straight Fall Championship

October 21, 2012, 12:57 pm
From track reports

DEMAR, Del. (Oct. 20) — Ricky Elliot of Seaford, Del., led every lap of Saturday night’s Super Late Model Fall Championship feature at Delaware International Speedway, becoming just the second driver to win the unsanctioned special event three years in a row.

Elliot earned $5,000 in scoring the flag-to-flag victory from the pole starting spot in the 50-lap event. He was followed at the finish by former Fall Championship winner Jamie Lathroum of Mechanicsville, Md., and Scott Haus of Hamburg, Pa. Roy Deese Jr. of Laurel, Md., and David Williams of Avenue, Md., rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

The race got off to a furious start with Elliott setting the way and Lathroum quickly racing from fourth to second. Third-starting Ross Robinson of Georgetown, Del., held on to the third spot with outside polesitter Donald Lingo Jr. of Millsboro, Del., fourth and Haus fifth.

The torrid pace put the leaders in lapped traffic by lap seven with Lathroum all over Elliott. Lathroum’s challenge was slowed, however, when he nearly slipped off the top in turn one. He lost ground to the leader but was able to hold on to second.

The race’s first caution appeared on lap 12 when Austin Hubbard of Seaford, Del., slowed to a stop. It wasn’t long after the restart before the leaders were back in traffic with Elliot nearly tangling with slower cars in turn four on lap 23.

The second caution came out just after the near tangle when Lingo, Jr. and slowed with a flat tire.

Shortly after the restart, Elliott survived another close call on lap 28 as Dale Lingo went around in the turn four directly in front of the leader. One lap later the yellow was out again after Herb Tunis spun.

Lathroum had nothing for Elliott in the final laps as Elliott drove to the win.

“We drew a good number (for the heat),” Elliott said. “You had to start up front because its rubbered-up a little bit but the track is smooth as glass. I’ve always loved this race and it is one of my favorite ones to try to win.”

Delaware State Championship: (1) Ricky Elliott, (2) Jamie Lathroum, (3) Scott Haus, (4) Roy Deese Jr., (5) David Williams, (6) Ross Robinson, (7) Andrew Mullins, (8) Kerry King, (9) Staci Warrington, (10) Kerry King Jr., (11) Nick Davis, (12) Lou Johnson, (13) Bryan Driver, (14) Bob Geiger, (15) Rob Schirmer, (16) Richard Jarvis Jr., (17) Dale Lingo, (18) David Hill, (19) Herb Tunis, (20) Mark Byram, (21) Brandon Dennis, (22) Donald Lingo Jr., (23) Andy Haus, (24) Kelly Putz, (25) Austin Hubbard, (26) David Pettyjohn. Did not start: Mark Williams. Heat race winners: Elliot, Lingo, Robinson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728