Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Clinton County Speedway

Cook captures Clinton County SRRS victory

April 28, 2008, 11:40 am
From track reports

ALBANY, Ky. (April 26) — Ray Cook of Brasstown, N.C., notched his fifth career victory and second of the season on the Southern Regional Racing Series at Clinton County Speedway. Cook fought off challenges from SRRS points leader Brandon King of Decatur, Ala., in leading all 50 laps at the first-ever series event in Kentucky. Eric Hickerson, Jay Brinkley and reigning SRRS champion Byron Michael rounded out the top five finishers at the 3/10-mile oval.

Notes: Cook's winning MasterSbilt Race Car has a Grover Racing Engine and sponsorship from Youngblood Concrete, Jacky Jones Automotive, Bill Elliott Racing and Arvil Cook Property Investments. ... Cook's previous series victory came April 12 at Mountain Raceway Park in Maryville, Tenn. ... Cook had won $3,000 two days earlier in an unsanctioned event at Green Valley Speedway in Glencoe, Ala. ... Cook has four victories overall in 2008. ... The Clinton County event took four attempts to get rolling after first-lap scrambles, including a six-car pileup in turn four. ... The series next heads to Alabama for a May 2-3 weekend at Penton Raceway and Green Valley Speedway in Glencoe.

SRRS @ Clinton County: (1) Ray Cook, (2) Brandon King, (3) Eric Hickerson, (4) Jay Brinkley, (5) Byron Michael, (6) Tony Morris, (7) Riley Hickman, (8) Kelly Hanvey, (9) Dustin Linville, (10) Tim Taylor, (11) Steven Ashby, (12) Joe Denby, (13) Ben Kittrell, (14) Jimmy Tucker, (15) Dennis Barton, (16) Mike Luna, (17) Fred Flatt, (18) Mark Walters, (19) Ray McElhiney, (20) Junior Brown, (21) Perry Delaney, (22) Jeff Watson, (23) Michael Luna, (24) Joe Patrick, (25) Ryan Law, (26) Kenny Cobble. Fast qualifier: Cook. Consolation race winners: Michael, Linville. Provisional starters: Cobble, Brown, Patrick, Walters.

Correction: An earlier version of this story listed the incorrect upcoming races for the SRRS. The series goes to Penton (Ala.) Raceway and Green Valley (Ala.) Speedway on May 2-3.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728