Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

NAPA Wayne County Speedway

Zack Dohm captures Freedom Fighters 40

October 14, 2012, 7:24 pm
By Ryan Pearson
NAPA Wayne County Speedway
Zack Dohm and his brother Nick in victory lane in Orrville, Ohio. (Karl Kammerer)
Zack Dohm and his brother Nick in victory lane in Orrville, Ohio. (Karl Kammerer)

ORRVILLE, Ohio (Oct. 13) — Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., earned $4,000 Saturday evening at NAPA Wayne County Speedway for winning the Freedom Fighters 40. Dohm took the checkers ahead of ninth-starting Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., in a race sprinkled by rain most of the way. | Slideshow

Tim Senic of Elkins, W.Va., drove Brad Malcuit’s car to a third-place finish while Keith Barbara of South Park, Pa., was fourth. Russ King of Bristolville was the first home-state finisher.

Pole-starting Doug Drown of Wooster, Ohio, jumped to the early lead over Dohm, King, Barbara and Jared Hawkins as the frontrunners battled. Dohm was right on Drown on the eighth lap, and got a run down the backstretch a lap later to dive under Drown and take command.

Dohm stretched his lead while Senic, King and Hawkins battled for the second spot and Miley worked his way to the front.

The leader worked through lapped traffic, allowing Senic to close the gap while Miley moved past Hawkins and King to third. On lap 27, Miley powered past Senic to take the second spot while Dohm was out front by a straightaway margin.

Two cautions appeared for George Lee, erasing Dohm’s lead, but he kept Miley in check on the restart. The high-running Miley couldn’t unseat Dohm while the low-running Senic settled for third.

Notes: Dohm’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by T&R Logging, Dohm Cycles and AK Trucking. ... The race was sponsored by D.J. Directional Services. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Steve Prince, Cody Scott, Chris Keller, Ryan Missler, Blaine Aber and Justin Chance. ... The season-ender was a makeup of a Sept. 22 rainout.

Freedom Fighters 40: (1) Zack Dohm, (2) Jared Miley, (3) Tim Senic, (4) Keith Barbara, (5) Russ King, (6) Keith Berner, (7) Devin Moran, (8) Corey Conley, (9) Brad Malcuit, (10) Shane McLoughlin, (11) Doug Drown, (12) Brandon Gardner, (13) Ryan Markham, (14) John Mollick, (15) Charlie Duncan, (16) George Lee, (17) Rick Bond, (18) Jared Hawkins, (19) Weston Hutchinson, (20) D.J. Cline. Heat race winners (among 41 cars): Dohm, Berner, Drown, McLoughlin, Barbara. Consolation winners: Clint, Gardner.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728