Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lake Cumberland Speedway

Chilton grabs $3,000 Lake Cumberland victory

October 13, 2012, 7:02 am
By Michael Despain
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

BURNSIDE, Ky. (Oct. 12) — Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky., earned $3,000 Friday at Lake Cumberland Speedway on opening night of the eighth annual Ironman Classic-Border Wars weekend.

Chilton ran second most of the way, but he took command when race-long leader Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., slowed with a flat left-rear tire on lap 31. Chilton led the rest of the 40-lap feature, taking the checkers ahead of fast qualifier Vic Hill of Salvisa, Ky. Tanner English of Benton, Ky., was third followed by Campbellsville, Ky., drivers Johnny Wheeler and Justin Rattliff. Neat ended up seventh, just behind his older brother Dustin.

Victor Lee was running second on the lap-31 restart, but a turn-one spin knocked him from contention as he settled for eighth.

Notes: Chilton’s Revelution Chassis is sponsored by a Bullock Race Engine and sponsored by Central Painting, Chilton’s Lawn Care, Dial Painting, FYS Race Products and Blue Moon Farms. ... Four caution periods in the first 10 laps slowed the feature. ... Vic Hill picked up $200 from FredWhiteRacing.com for his fast time. ... Jeff Neubert’s 17th-to-ninth run gave him the PPM Racing Products Hard Charger honors. ... Among drivers missing the feature lineup: Jeff Watson, Chris Combs, Randy Ridney, Wesley Brummett, Travis Armes and Danny McGlothlin. ... Action continues Saturday at Lake Cumberland with a $5,000-to-win main event.

Lake Cumberland Speedway: (1) Michael Chilton, (2) Vic Hill, (3) Tanner English, (4) Johnny Wheeler, (5) Justin Rattliff, (6) Dustin Neat, (7) Brad Neat, (8) Victor Lee, (9) Jeff Neubert, (10) Michael Wright, (11) Michael Asberry, (12) Rod Carter Jr., (13) Tommy Bailey, (14) Ricky Arms, (15) Kenny Cobble, (16) Mike Weeks, (17) Tim Tungate, (18) Skylar Marlar. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Hill, 13.234 seconds. Heat race winners: Hill, B. Neat, Chilton. Consolation winner: D. Neat.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728