Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hesston Speedway

First ULMS victory keeps Eckert's October perfect

October 13, 2012, 6:34 am
From series reports

HESSTON, Pa. (Oct. 12) — Rick Eckert of York, Pa., stretched his personal winning streak to four in a row Friday at Hesston Speedway in capturing the opening night feature of the Kennedy Motorsports United Late Model Series Ultimate weekend. Eckert earned $4,044 for his first career victory with Pennsylvania-based ULMS.

Jerry Bard of Shippensburg, Pa., also posted his best career ULMS run with a second-place finish while Scott LeBarron of Dover, Pa., was third. Pole-starting Mike Lupfer of Shermansdale, Pa., and consolation race winner Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., rounded out the top five.

Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., took a provisional starting spot and rallied to finish sixth in the 26-car field.

Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Minn., clinched the ULMS championship by virtue of his victory in the night’s first heat race. He also won the 2010 title.

Notes: Eckert’s Bloomquist Race Car is powered by a Jay Dickens Racing Engine and sponsored by J&K Salvage, Ritchey Sandblasting and Bahia Service Center. ... Eckert is undefeated in October and has seven victories overall in 2012. ... Chilly temperatures greeted fans and competitors during the first ULMS event of 2012 at the 4/10-mile oval. ... Both prior ULMS events scheduled for Hesston were cancelled. ... Saturday’s 71-lap finale pays $10,000 to the winning driver.

ULMS @ Hesston: (1) Rick Eckert, (2) Jerry Bard, (3) Scott LeBarron, (4) Mike Lupfer, (5) Dave Hess Jr., (6) Gregg Satterlee, (7) Boom Briggs, (8) Matt Lux, (9) Dutch Davies, (10) Jamie Lathroum, (11) Nick Dickson, (12) Jason Covert, (13) Dan Stone, (14) Chad Hollenbeck, (15) Brian Tavenner, (16) Mason Ziegler, (17) Tim Fuller, (18) Doug Eck, (19) Jeff Miller, (20) Justin Kann, (21) Jeff Rine, (22) Jim Yoder, (23) Tyler Hershey, (24) Austin Hubbard, (25) Greg Oakes, (26) Bob Dunn. Heat race winners (among 48 cars): Briggs, Dickson, LeBarron, Lathroum, Lux, Hubbard. Consolation winners: Hershey, Hess, Zeigler.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728