Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

BAPS Motor Speedway

Knaub wins third straight Susquehanna Showdown

September 23, 2012, 9:38 am
From track reports

NEWBERRYTOWN, Pa. (Sept. 22) — Gene Knaub of Dover, Pa., led all the way in Saturday's 50-lap Susquehanna Showdown, capturing Susquehanna Speedway Park’s special event for the third straight season.

The pole-starting Knaub grabbed the lead from the start with Jake Jones falling into the runner-up spot. On lap 12 Grant Adams, overtook Jones for the second spot, setting Knaub in his sights.

Adams continued to pursue Knaub with several chances to close in on the rear bumper of Knaub in the caution-filled event. However, Adams retired after 38 laps, handing the runner-up spot to Travis Mease.

But Mease couldn’t catch Knaub either, settling for the runner-up spot. He was followed to the checkers by Sam Galloway, Justin Ehrhart and 21st-starting Ben Whitaker.

Notes: Knaub’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by Superior Homes and Route 30 Seafood and 382 Auto Sales. ... The track’s Limited Late Model division is sponsored by Hoosier Tire Mid-Atlantic. ... Ben Whitaker won hard charger honors by advancing 16 positions. ... Knaub earned an additional $250 with a victory in Friday’s Hammaker’s Racing Engine 10-lap dash. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Denny Willey, Todd Leonard, Larry Neiderer, Jason Smith, Dave Lightner, Roger Myers, Matt Murphy, Eric Irvin, Chad Julius, Eddie Drury and Nathan Ottensmeyer. ... Late Models aren’t in action during SSP’s ninthannual Miller’s Racing Parts Fall Classic on Oct. 19-20.

Susquehanna Showdown: (1) Gene Knaub, (2) Randy Stoudt, (3) Sam Gallagher, (4) Justin Ehrhart, (5) Ben Whitaker, (6) Jared Miller, (7) Bernie Beard, (8) Ron Coleman, (9) Ron Kline, (10) Travis Mease, (11) Charles Potts, (12) Jason Miller, (13) Bob Minnich, (14) Michael Goodwin, (15) Grant Adams, (16) Jake Jones, (17) J.R. Rodriguez, (18) Bobby Beard, (19) Carl Billet, (20) Billy Wampler, (21) Pancho Lawler, (22) Randy Christine Jr., (23) Larry Baer, (24) John Moser Jr. Disqualified: Chase Billet. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Jones, Minnich, Mease, Knaub. Dash winner: Knaub. Consolation winner: Goodwin.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728