Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Peoria Speedway

Feger rolls on, claims third Hamilton Memorial

September 23, 2012, 6:29 am
From track and correspondent reports
Jason Feger celebrates a $5,000 victory at Peoria. (Brendon Bauman)
Jason Feger celebrates a $5,000 victory at Peoria. (Brendon Bauman)

PEORIA, Ill. (Sept. 22) — Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., continued his late-season surge by scoring his third consecutive victory in Peoria Speedway’s Jon Hamilton Memorial. Lapping all but three competitors, Feger earned $5,000 in the 100-lap event that closed out the season for the track’s UMP-sanctioned Budweiser Super Late Model Series. | Slideshow

The third-starting Feger took the lead from Kevin Weaver of Gibson City, Ill., on the 11th lap and never looked back, crossing the finish line ahead of Kyle Logue of Cisco, Ill., and Wes Steidinger of Fairbury, Ill. Billy Drake of Bloomington, Ill., and Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., who started fifth and took second from Weaver on lap 33, lost a runner-up finish after failing to appear at the scales for postrace inspection.

“Brian sure made me work for that one," Feger said. "I'm exhausted. I was glad to see that caution come out with 25 to go so I could catch my breath. You could run anywhere on this track tonight, but we really had to work lapped traffic. We are on a roll right now, so hopefully we can keep it up for these late-season races.”

Drake took home a $5,000 check for claiming the track's Budweiser-sponsored championship in the Super Late Model division.

Notes: Feger's Pierce Race Car is powered by a Rhyne Competition Engine and sponsored by Chizmark Larson Insurance, Pro Tire & Automotive, Jaxon Chase Steel Detailing, Box Seat Motorsports, Mulligans and Stearn Ironworks. … Feger’s victory is his second straight and is his seventh of the season paying $5,000 or more. … Feger’s previous victory came in Fairbury (Ill.) American Legion Speedway’s Prairie Dirt Classic a week earlier. … The event was the final Super Late Model race on Peoria’s 2012 schedule.

Jon Hamilton Memorial: (1) Jason Feger, (2) Kyle Logue, (3) Wes Steidinger, (4) Billy Drake, (5) Ryan Unzicker, (6) Steve Lance Jr., (7) Mike Mullvain, (8) Tim Lance, (9) Charley Hess, (10) Tim Isenberb, (11) Jason Jaggers, (12) John Gardner Jr., (13) Todd Bennett, (14) Kevin Weaver, (15) John Piccatto, (16) Torrin Mettille, (17) Russ Adams, (18) Donny Walden, (19) Bob Gardner. Disqualified: Brian Shirley. Fast qualifier (among 24 cars): Feger, 12.326 seconds. Heat race winners: Feger, S. Lance, Shirley. Consolation winner: J. Gardner.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728