Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Brownstown Speedway

Owens tops 40 qualifiers at the 33rd Jackson 100

September 21, 2012, 9:16 pm
By James Essex
Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series
Jimmy Owens topped 40 qualifiers at Brownstown Speedway. (Roy D. Walker)
Jimmy Owens topped 40 qualifiers at Brownstown Speedway. (Roy D. Walker)

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. (Sept. 21) — Reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion and current points leader Jimmy Owens of Newport, Tenn., topped the 40-car field for Red Buck Time Trials on Friday at Brownstown Speedway for the 33rd Annual Jackson 100.

Owens will start on the pole in the first of four heat races Saturday night at Brownstown the precede the $20,000-to-win event, the quarter-mile oval’s richest race. Other heat race polesitters, based on Friday’s time trials, are Hillbilly 100 winner Mike Marlar of Winfield, Tenn.; Jared Landers of Batesville, Ark.; and Brad Neat at Dunnville, Ky.

Four-time race winner Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, Tenn., trying to win an unprecedented third straight Jackson 100, will start third in the second heat race while three-time race winner Don O’Neal of Martinsville, Ind., starts outside the fourth row in the same prelim.

Owens tripped the clock with a lap of 15.281 seconds to set fast time in the event sponsored by Industrial Solutions Technology of Columbus, Ind. Saturday’s action includes heat races, consolation races and the 100-lap main event.

Notes: Dustin Linville of Bryantsville, Ky., last weekend’s Hall of Fame Classic winner at Brownstown, starts outside the first row in the third heat. ... Scott James of Lawrenceburg, Ind., is fielding Tim Prince’s No. P1 for the second straight week. ... Mark Barber of North Vernon, Ind., earned $1,500 for winning the Jackson 50, Friday’s Indiana Late Model Series event for Crate Late Models. ... Derek Groomer won the modified feature.

Jackson 100 heat race lineups

(10 laps; top four transfer)
First heat
Row 1: Jimmy Owens, Tyler Reddick
Row 2: Terry Casey, Greg Johnson
Row 3: Earl Pearson Jr., Chad Stapleton
Row 4: Dustin Neat, Brandon Kinzer
Row 5: Jeremy Hines, Joe Godsey
Second heat
Row 1: Mike Marlar, Eric Wells
Row 2: Scott Bloomquist, Brian Birkhofer
Row 3: Tim Rivers, John Blankenship
Row 4: Matt Boknecht, Don O'Neal
Row 5: Wayne Chinn, Zak Blackwood
Third heat
Row 1: Jared Landers, Dustin Linville
Row 2: Jonathan Davenport, Joe Janowski
Row 3: Billy Moyer Jr., Josh McGuire
Row 4: Justin Rattliff, Scott James
Row 5: Shelby Miles, Alan Magner
Fourth heat
Row 1: Brad Neat, Shannon Babb
Row 2: Steve Casebolt, Mike Jewell
Row 3: Steve Francis, Matt Patus
Row 4: Steve Barnett, Greg Kendall
Row 5: Chris Streeval, David Ross
Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728