Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Cedar Lake Speedway

Streaking Smith tops Mars in Legendary 100

September 16, 2012, 9:07 am
From track and correspondent reports

NEW RICHMOND, Wis. (Sept. 15) — Pole-starting Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., outdueled Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., on Saturday at Cedar Lake Speedway to win the Late Model portion of the Legendary 100 for the second straight year.

The streaking Smith earned $5,000 for his fourth victory in five starts while Mars settled for second in the multiday NASCAR-sanctioned event at the 3/8-mile oval. Three more Wisconsin drivers — A.J. Diemel of Navarino, John Kaanta of Elk Mound and Nick Anvelink of Navarino — rounded out the top five finishers in the 24-car field.

Smith jumped into the lead and stayed in command through the halfway point, but the fourth-starting Mars slipped by on the 22nd lap to go into the lead. Smith stayed with him, though, and when Mars slipped up on lap 32, Smith took advantage to regain the lead and race to victory.

Three cautions slowed the action, including a lap-four yellow when Trent Follmer was towed off the track again on lap 41 for slowing heat race winner Adam Hensel.

Notes: Smith’s Bloomquist Race Car is powered by a Vic Hill Racing Engine and sponsored by Big Red Motorsports, Mid-States Equipment Hydraulics, Michaeltz Trucking and Badger Storage and Excavating. ... Smith has victories in seven of his previous 13 starts. ... Smith picked up an extra $400 for Friday’s semifeature victory. ... Runner-up Jimmy Mars led every lap in the modified feature. ... Cedar Lake’s regular stock-car season is over with the exception of a Sept. 22 enduro.

Legendary 100: (1) Brady Smith, (2) Jimmy Mars, (3) A.J. Diemel, (4) John Kaanta, (5) Nick Anvelink, (6) Chad Mahder, (7) Steve Laursen, (8) Jake Redetzke, (9) Brent Larson, (10) Darrell Nelson, (11) Kyle Peterlin, (12) Rick Hanestad, (13) Rick Schroeder, (14) Don Shaw, (15) Randy Gullixson, (16) Mike Nutzmann, (17) Doug Blashe, (18) Adam Hensel, (19) Greg Nippoldt, (20) Kerry Hanson, (21) Zach Wohlers, (22) Trent Follmer, (23) Matt Aukland, (24) Ron Berna. Heat race winners (among 36 cars): Smith, Anvelink, Larson, Hensel. Friday’s semifeature winner: Smith. Consolation winners: Hanestad, Aukland.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728