Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Monett Motor Speedway

Purkey tops Vaught at Monett in first DLRA race

April 21, 2008, 1:53 pm
From track reports
Al Purkey picked up $2,000. (Ron Mitchell)
Al Purkey picked up $2,000. (Ron Mitchell)

MONETT, Mo. (April 20) — Al Purkey of Coffeyville, Kan., ushered in the Allstar Dirt Late Model Racing Association with a $2,000 victory at Monett Speedway. Purkey overtook early leader Will Vaught of Crane, Mo., midway through the race and captured the first 40-lapper on the first-year series. | Slideshow | April recaps

Vaught ended up second followed by teammates Jeremy Payne and Terry Phillips, both of Springfield, Mo., while Brad Looney of Republic, Mo., rounded out the top five. NASCAR veteran Ken Schrader of Fenton, Mo., was seventh while rookie Late Model driver Tony Jackson Jr. of Lebanon was running fourth when mechanical problems sent him into the infield on lap 26. Polesitter Rusty Dukes of Fair Grove, Mo., fell out of the top five early and ended up 10th.

Notes: Purkey's Larry Shaw Race Car is sponsored by Integra Shocks and Springs and Duralite Racing Wheels. ... Purkey overtook Vaught before his winning pass, but the move was negated by a caution flag. ... Rookie Chance Hines brought out a lap-nine caution. ... Justin Wells got hard charger honors in finishing eighth while Gary Gorby received the Wheeler Metals Hard Luck award. ... The next DLRA event is at Monett on May 25. ... Monett hosts the World of Outlaws Late Model Series for the first time May 4.

DLRA @ Monett: (1) Al Purkey, (2) Will Vaught, (3) Jeremy Payne, (4) Terry Phillips, (5) Brad Looney, (6) Brandon McCormick, (7) Ken Schrader, (8) Justin Wells, (9) Ken Essary, (10) Rusty Dukes, (11) Chris Hawkins, (12) Dustin Mooneyham, (13) Burl Woods, (14) Leroy Johnson, (15) Larry Jones, (16) Tony Jackson Jr., (17) Darrell Mooneyham, (18) Patrick Johnson, (19) Shane Essary, (20) Chance Hines, (21) Eric Turner. Heat race winners: Jackson, Dukes, Payne.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728