Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1144
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Aztec Speedway

Modified ace fends off Lewis for Aztec victory

September 3, 2012, 4:00 pm
From series reports

AZTEC, N.M. (Sept. 1) — Third-starting Bumper Jones of Mesilla Park, N.M., slipped around the front-row starters after just one lap Saturday at Aztec Speedway and raced to his second career victory on the Championship Late Model Association DIRTcar tour. He earned $1,500.

One of the Southwest’s best modified drivers, Jones took an offer to drive the Colorado-based No. 19 car of Steve Lewis and grabbed his second CLMA victory in his third career tour start. Scott Lewis of Henderson, Colo., the winner’s teammate for the weekend, finished second.

Jones, who went around Brad Shelton and Andy Hockenhull at the race’s outset, turned back several challenges by Lewis for the victory.

Modified ace John Hansen of Fort Morgan, Colo., was third after taking the spot from Garrett Alberson of Las Cruces, N.M., on the final lap. Jason Davis of Grand Junction, Colo., rounded out the top five.

CLMA @ Aztec: (1) Bumper Jones, (2) Scott Lewis, (3) John Hansen, (4) Garrett Alberson, (5) Jason Davis, (6) Garrett Higgins, (7) Dave Deetz, (8) Dave Garmann, (9) Monte Neff, (10) Jeff Whyman, (11) Chad Tenski, (12) Kevin Faddis, (13) Andy Hockenhull, (14) Larry Jackson, (15) Jonathon Ortega, (16) Xavier Ortega, (17) Cliff Hansen, (18) Paul Corbaley, (19) Marc Herrera, (20) Ronnie Frazier, (21) Brad Shelton, (22) Kyle Hill, (23) J.T. Botts, (24) Nate Beacham. Heat race winners (among 24 cars): Shelton, Hockenhull, Jones.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728