Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Aztec Speedway

Hansen rules Aztec in second Late Model start

September 3, 2012, 1:23 pm
From series reports
John Hansen emerges after his victory at Aztec Speedway. (www.facebook.com/Crimson.n.cream.photo)
John Hansen emerges after his victory at Aztec Speedway. (www.facebook.com/Crimson.n.cream.photo)

AZTEC, N.M. (Sept. 2) — Winning in just his second career Late Model start, modified standout John Hansen of Fort Morgan, Co., drove former series champion Dave Garmann's backup car to a $2,500 victory in Sunday’s Championship Late Model Association DIRTcar presented by Indy Screen Print event at Aztec Speedway. | Slideshow

Starting from the poll, Hansen jumped ahead on the start of the race and never looked back, leading every to top hometown driver Garrett Higgins, who earned his career-best finish on the regional tour. Garrett Alberson of Loz Cruces, N.M., finished third with hometown driver Andy Hockenhull and Brad Shelton, also of Fort Morgan, rounding out the top five.

With his third-place effort, Alberson retook the series points lead from Scott Lewis of Henderson, Colo., who ended up 22nd in the final rundown after dropping out early.

The CLMA tour returns to action Sept. 21-22 with a doubleheader weekend at Diamond Mountain Speedway in Vernal, Utah.

CLMA @ Aztec: (1) John Hansen, (2) Garrett Higgins, (3) Garrett Alberson, (4) Andy Hockenhull, (5) Brad Shelton, (6) Kevin Faddis, (7) Dave Garmann, (8) Paul Corbaley, (9) Nate Beacham, (10) Ronnie Frazier, (11) Dave Deetz, (12) Larry Jackson, (13) Steve Francis Jr., (14) Cliff Hansen, (15) Marc Herrera, (16) Bumper Jones, (17) Monte Neff, (18) Rick Ortega, (19) Chad Tenski, (20) Jason Davis, (21) Jonathan Ortega, (22) Scott Lewis, (23) Kyle Hill, (24) J.T. Botts, (25) Jeff Whyman. Heat race winners (among 25 cars): Shelton, Garmann, Hansen. Dash winner: Garmann.

Correction: Fixes dateline.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728