Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Hibbing Raceway

Brady Smith wins $3,500 at Hibbing

September 3, 2012, 7:18 am
From track reports

HIBBING, Minn. (Sept. 2) — Brady Smith of Solon Springs, Wis., raced to his third WISSOTA Late Model special event victory in a five-day span Sunday at Hibbing Raceway, earning $3,500 in the second round of the 3/8-mile oval’s 34th annual Labor Day Shootout doubleheader.

The seventh-starting Smith topped Zach Wohlers of Pengilly, Minn., who advanced from 10th to finish second. Tom Waseleski Jr., also of Pengilly, finished third with Lance Matthees of Winona, Minn., and Harry Hanson of Eveleth, Minn., rounding out the top five.

Mound, Minn., driver Justin Fegers, who won Saturday night’s Labor Day Shootout feature, ended up seventh in Sunday’s race.

Notes: Smith’s Bloomquist Race Car is sponsored by Big Red Motorsports, Mid-States Equipment Hydraulics, Michaeltz Trucking and Badger Storage and Excavating. … Smith’s previous victories came in Wednesday’s WISOTTA Challenge Series event at Ogilvie (Minn.) Raceway and in Thursday’s Black Bear Resort Casino Silver 1000 at Proctor (Minn.) Speedway. … The victory is Smith’s fifth of the season. All five have come since Aug. 4.

Labor Day Shootout: (1) Brady Smith, (2) Zach Wohlers, (3) Tom Waseleski Jr., (4) Lance Matthees, (5) Harry Hanson, (6) John Kaanta, (7) Justin Fegers, (8) Terry Lillo, (9) Greg Ferris, (10) Jeff Massingill, (11) George Ledin Jr., (12) Rick Hanestad, (13) Kerry Hanson, (14) Kyle Gavel, (15) Darrell Nelson, (16) Travis Budisalovish, (17) David Esse, (18) Mark Heinle, (19) Kevin Carlson, (20) Jeff Provinzino, (21) Matt Sorenson, (22) Tim McMann, (23) Matt Aukland, (24) Robby Bunkelman. Heat race winners (among 35 cars): Matthees, Kaanta, Sorenson, Waseleski. Consolation winners: Lillo, Hanestad.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728