Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Monett Motor Speedway

Stovall tops Moyer at Monett for 5th MARS win

September 3, 2012, 6:17 am
From correspondent reports
Jesse Stovall (00) heads for his fifth MARS victory. (Ron Mitchell)
Jesse Stovall (00) heads for his fifth MARS victory. (Ron Mitchell)

MONETT, Mo. (Sept. 2) — Series points leader Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., claimed his fifth MARS DIRTcar Series victory of the season Sunday night at Monett Speedway, earning $4,000 for winning the 42nd annual 4-State Dirt Track Championship. | Slideshow

Stovall topped Billy Moyer of Batesville, Ark., for the victory while Wendell Wallace, also of Batesville, finished third. Lebanon, Mo., drivers Tony Jackson Jr. and Brandon McCormick rounded out the race’s top five finishers.

Jack Sullivan of Greenbrier, Ark., was scheduled to start second in the GRT Race Cars house car, but smoke billowed from underneath the hood of his car and ended his race before he could take the green flag.

Notes: Stovall’s Al Humphrey-owned Victory Circle Chassis has a Scott Bailey Racing Engine and sponsorship from B2R Racing, Hatcher Auto Body and M&M Painting and Construction. … The victory marked Stovall’s 12th of the year overall and his 11th MARS win of his career. ... Up next for the series is a Sept. 15 trip to Springfield (Mo.) Raceway.

4-State Dirt Track Championship: (1) Jesse Stovall, (2) Billy Moyer, (3) Wendell Wallace, (4) Tony Jackson Jr., (5) Brandon McCormick. Heat race winners (among 40 cars): Moyer, Sullivan, Stovall, Justin Asplin. Consolation winners: Brandon Morton, Justin Wells.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728