Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1135
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eriez Speedway

Hackett captures first ULMS victory at Eriez

August 27, 2012, 7:15 am
By Jay Pees
Eriez Speedway
Chris Hackett picked up $3,000 for his first career ULMS victory. (Todd Battin)
Chris Hackett picked up $3,000 for his first career ULMS victory. (Todd Battin)

HAMMETT, Pa. (Aug. 26) — Hometown driver Chris Hackett raced to victory Sunday at Eriez Speedway, his first-ever on the Kennedy Motorsports United Late Model Series. Hackett earned $3,000.

He took the checkers ahead of Dave Hess Jr. of Waterford, Pa., in the 23-car event. Dutch Davies of Warren, Pa., was third followed by series points leader Boom Briggs of Bear Lake, Pa., and Mike Knight of Ripley, N.Y.

Rich Gardner started on the pole with Hackett alongside, and Hackett jumped into the early lead with Gardner, Ron Davies and Knight in pursuit. The race was halted when tail-running Chuck Parker spun in turn four on the seventh lap.

Ron Davies moved into second on the restart with Hess up to third before a lap-12 yellow for Randy Sterling’s turn-two spin.

With Hackett still out front, Ron Davies got too high in turn two on the restart, losing two spots immediately, then falling out of contention altogether when he spun in turn four on lap 17, collecting Jason Dupont.

After another Sterling spin, Hackett opened a lead on Hess with Briggs and Knight just behind. At lap 22, Hess put pressure on Hackett as both frontrunners narrowly avoiding a spinning Dave Lyon.

Hackett kept Hess in check for three more laps before another yellow, then won the two-lap dash to the checkers for the victory.

Notes: Hackett drives a Rocket Chassis sponsored by Roberts Trucking, Shock Shaver and JBR Motorsports. ... Hackett won his second feature of the season at Eriez. ... Max Blair won the night’s Fastrak Crate Late Model feature. ... Mike Knight is virtually assured another Eriez Super Late Model division title. ... Eriez wraps up the 2012 season on Sept. 2.

ULMS @ Eriez: (1) Chris Hackett, (2) Dave Hess Jr.,� (3) Dutch Davies, (4) Boom Briggs, (5) Mike Knight, (6) Rich Gardner, (7) Bump Hedman, (8) Matt Lux, (9) Andy Boozel, (10) Ron Davies, (11) Scott Gurdak, (12) Greg Oakes, (13) Doug Eck, (14) Billy Dickson, (15) Jason Morell, (16) Bob Close, (17) Randy Sterling, (18) Chuck Parker, (19) Dave Lyon, (20) Jim Rasey, (21) Jason Dupont, (22) Robbie Blair, (23) John Volpe. Heat race winners (among 23 cars): R. Davies, D. Davies, Dupont. King of the Hill winner: Blair.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728