Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Portsmouth Raceway Park

Casebolt rallies to win Dillow Memorial at PRP

August 20, 2012, 9:15 am
From track reports
Steve Casebolt (c9) works around Josh McGuire (41) en route to victory. (rdwphotos.smugmug.com)
Steve Casebolt (c9) works around Josh McGuire (41) en route to victory. (rdwphotos.smugmug.com)

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio (Aug. 18) — Everything came up 18s on Saturday at Portsmouth Raceway Park. On the 18th of the month for the 18th annual Fred Dillow Memorial, Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind., rallied from his 18th starting spot for a victory in the 35-lap unsanctioned event. | Slideshow

Casebolt pocketed $5,000 for his stirring run on the high side as he took the checkers ahead of Grayson, Ky., drivers Jackie Boggs and Josh McGuire. Jason Montgomery of Jackson, Ohio, was fourth with Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, W.Va., rounding out the top five.

Boggs led the first 22 laps laps before Carrier wnet out front. Boggs and Carrier got together battling for the lead on lap 28, and Casebolt took advantage to slip by both of them and hold the lead the rest of the way.

Casebolt’s victory gave him a $10,000 weekend in Ohio as he collected $5,000 the previous night at Moler Raceway Park in Williamsburg.

Notes: Casebolt’s Cornett-powered MasterSbilt Race Car is sponsored by American Racer, Sunoco Race Fuels, Port City Racing, Sweet Mfg. and JE Pistons. ... Casebolt notched his third victory of the season; he has two at Portsmouth. ... Casebolt picked up an extra $183 for the Racers in Christ Hard Charger award. ... R.J. Conley of Wheelersburg, set fast time, pocketing the $1,077 Bozo's Just Give Me One Lap bonus. ... Jason Montgomery’s victory in the Sgt. Tim Moore Late Model Dash $233 to win. ... Audie Swartz won the Limited Late Model feature. ... The event drew a season-high 137 race cars, including 43 Late Models. ... Audie's father Charlie was among drivers exhibiting three-quarter scale Late Models. ... More big events are coming up at Portsmouth. On Labor Day weekend, an unsanctioned $5,000-to-win event is scheduled for Aug. 31 with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned Pepsi 50 River Days Rumble on Sept. 1. ... Capping the season will be the $50,000-to-win Dirt Track World Championship, the Lucas Oil Series event promoted by Carl Short. PRP is hosting the event for the first time.

Fred Dillow Memorial: (1) Steve Casebolt (2) Jackie Boggs, (3) Josh McGuire, (4) Jason Montgomery, (5) Eddie Carrier Jr., (6) R.J. Conley, (7) Ben Adkins, (8) Nick Bocook, (9) Donnie Moran, (10) Chris Wilson, (11) Mark Frazier, (12) Tim Dohm, (13) Rod Conley, (14) Shannon Thornsberry, (15) Michael Paul Howard, (16) Kenneth Howell, (17) Duane Chamberlain, (18) Zack Dohm, (19) Robby Hensley, (20) Terry Hicks, (21) Rod Evans, (22) Scott James. Fast qualifier (among 43 cars): R.J. Conley. Dash winner: Montgomery. Heat race winners: McGuire, Bocook, Carrier, Wilson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728