Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 257
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Southern New Mexico Speedway

Lewis completes CLMA sweep at Las Cruces

August 20, 2012, 8:16 am
From series reports
Garrett Alberson (43) tries to avoid this scramble in Las Cruces. (jimrosasphotography.com)
Garrett Alberson (43) tries to avoid this scramble in Las Cruces. (jimrosasphotography.com)

LAS CRUCES, N.M. (Aug. 18) — Reigning series champ Scott Lewis of Henderson, Colo., completed a sweep of the Championship Late Model Association DIRTcar Series weekend on Saturday at Southern New Mexico Speedway.

The third-starting Lewis took the lead from Garrett Higgins of Aztec, N.M., and never looked back in racing to the $1,200 payday. Lewis also won the previous night at El Paso (Texas) Speedway Park. | Slideshow

While Lewis took the victory at Las Cruces, the battle for the second spot was a tight one with Lonnie Parker Jr. of El Mirage, Ariz., coming out on top over fellow Arizona driver R.C. Whitwell of Tucson. Higgins and hometown driver Garrett Alberson rounded out the top five.

CLMA @ Southern New Mexico: (1) Scott Lewis, (2) Lonnie Parker Jr., (3) R.C. Whitwell, (4) Garrett Higgins, (5) Garrett Alberson, (6) Jimmy Ray, (7) Jonathon Ortega, (8) James Chavez Jr., (9) Eric McNutt, (10) Jeff Whyman, (11) Walton Kyle Jr., (12) Dave Deetz, (13) Xavier Ortega, (14) Kyle Hill, (15) Walton Kyle Sr., (16) Bucky Andrews, (17) Cliff Hansen, (18) Cory Brownwood, (19) Ronnie Frazier, (20) Monte Neff. Heat race winners (among 20 cars): Lewis, McNutt, Higgins. Dash winner: Lewis.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728