Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1069
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lake Cumberland Speedway

Brad Neat cruises to win Hardgrove Memorial

August 19, 2012, 5:56 am
By Michael Despain
DirtonDirt.com correspondent

BURNSIDE, Ky. (Aug. 18) — Outside front-row starter Brad Neat of Dunnville, Ky., led all 50 laps Saturday at Lake Cumberland Speedway to win the fourth annual Harold Hardgrove Memorial. Neat pocketed $4,000 in becoming the fourth different winner of the race that honors the late track owner.

Polesitter Terry English of Benton, Ky., was second followed by Tim Tungate of Campbellsville, Ky. Michael Chilton of Salvisa, Ky., and Neat’s older brother Dustin, who started 13th, rounded out the top five.

English and Brad Neat brought the 18-car field to green with Neat getting the jump as English, Tungate, Chilton and Victor Lee gave chase in the early laps.

Neat set a rapid pace that was slowed by the race’s only yellow when Michael Asberry slowed in turn two on the ninth lap.

Back underway, Neat scooted away from the pack and began lapping slower traffic by lap 19 while Tungate and Chilton battled for third. Neat chewed through the competition, lapping all but eight drivers by the lap-40 mark.

Things got interesting on lap 46 when Dustin Neat took fourth from Chilton and briefly took third from Tungate, but a slipup dropped the elder Neat back to fifth.

It was clear sailing up front for his brother as Brad Neat wrapped up the unsanctioned victory at the 3/8-mile oval.

Notes: Brad Neat’s self-owned B&B Motorsports Race Car is powered by a Cornett Race Engine and sponsored by Red Buck Cigars, Neat’s Service Center and Begley’s General Store. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Randy Ridner, Dennis Barton, Tim Taylor, Tommy Bailey, Stephen Breeding and David Webb. ... Many of the same drivers will head to Ponderosa Speedway in Junction City, Ky., on Aug. 24 for the $7,500-to-win Colston Paving 60.

Harold Hardgrove Memorial: (1) Brad Neat, (2) Terry English, (3) Tim Tungate, (4) Michael Chilton, (5) Dustin Neat, (6) Victor Lee, (7) Justin Rattliff, (8) Tanner English, (9) Chris Combs, (10) Rod Carter Jr., (11) Raymond Nichols, (12) Dillan White, (13) Ricky Arms, (14) Tommy Gregory, (15) Jeff Rawlings, (16) Todd Coffman, (17) Michael Asberry, (18) Michael England. Fast qualifier (among 30 cars): B. Neat, 13.155 seconds. Heat race winners: Chilton, B. Neat, Tungate, Terry English. Consolation winners: D. Neat, White. Provisional starters: England, Coffman.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728