Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1082
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Manitowoc County Expo Speedway

Mars dominates George Scheffler Memorial

August 18, 2012, 5:36 am
From track and correspondent reports
Jimmy Mars lapped nearly everyone at Manitowoc. (danlewisphoto.net)
Jimmy Mars lapped nearly everyone at Manitowoc. (danlewisphoto.net)

MANITOWOC, Wis. (Aug. 17) — Jimmy Mars of Menomonie, Wis., dominated the third annual George Scheffler Memorial on Friday at Manitowoc County Expo Speedway, lapping all but two competitors in racing to a $4,000 payday in the Wisconsin Dirt Late Model Association event. | Slideshow

WDLMA weekly points leader Russ Scheffler of Waukesha, Wis., led the first four laps, but it was all Mars after that as he ducked to the inside in turn two and cruised the rest of the way in the caution-free 40-lapper.

The pole-starting Scheffler settled for second ahead of his brother Rick Scheffler, the only other driver who managed to stay on the lead lap during the onslaught. Outside front-row starter Brett Swedberg of Shawano, Wis., was fourth and 13th-starting Nick Anvelink of Navarino, Wis., rounded out the top five.

Notes: Mars drives an MB Customs car with a Pro Power engine and sponsorship from Deppe Enterprises, S&S Transport, T.L. Sinz Plumbing, Keyes Chevytown and Baileigh Industrial. ... The victory was the first for Mars since June 2, a rare mid-season dry spell for the former Dream and Dirt Track World Championship winner. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Dan Dipple, Dakota Gieger, Ted Dohlun Sr., Justin Schmidt, Troy Springborn, Tim Buhler, Brad Mueller, Paul Parker and Gordie Seegert Jr. ... Seegert took a nasty flip on the first lap of the second heat after Mitch McGrath lost control in front of the field on the backstretch; Mueller, Buhler and Paul Parker were also involved; no injuries were reported. ...

George Scheffler Memorial: (1) Jimmy Mars, (2) Russ Scheffler, (3) Rick Scheffler, (4) Brett Swedberg, (5) Nick Anvelink, (6) Jim Schmidt, (7) Tom Naeyaert, (8) Turk Letizia, (9) Jim Letizia, (10) Dave Fieber, (11) T.J. Dohlun, (12) Justin Hirt, (13) Billy Rezutek, (14) Bob Cullen, (15) Craig Schueffner, (16) Ron Stroika, (17) Justin Schmidt, (18) Mark Rose, (19) Ron Berna, (20) Pete Parker. Heat race winners (among 38 cars): Rick Scheffler, Swedberg, Russ Scheffler, Mars. Consolation winners: Anvelink, Parker.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728