Login |
Watch LIVE at | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 923
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Eldora Speedway

Ruhlman wins at Eldora after Miller sputters

April 21, 2008, 6:42 am
From track reports
Brian Ruhlman notched his 17th career ALMS victory. (apexonephoto.com)
Brian Ruhlman notched his 17th career ALMS victory. (apexonephoto.com)

ROSSBURG, Ohio (April 19) — Taking the lead when engine problems knocked Matt Miller out on the 12th lap, Brian Ruhlman of Clarklake, Mich., led the rest of the 25-lapper at Eldora Speedway for a season-opening victory on the Sunoco American Late Model Series. Ruhlman earned $2,000 for his 17th career series victory, which ranks fourth all-time on the UMP-sanctioned circuit. Fast qualifier Casey Noonan of Sylvania, Ohio, was second followed by Tyler Boggs of Warsaw, Ind., Rusty Schlenk of Jackson, Mich., and last year's Eldora Dream winner Steve Casebolt of Richmond, Ind. Aaron Scott of Newark, Ohio crossed the finish line fourth but was disqualified for weighing in too light. | Hillard Miller injury update | April recaps | Slideshow

After a wild, first-lap frontstretch scramble involving several cars triggered by Ky Harper, Scott led the first four laps on the half-mile oval before Miller took command. Miller was in control on the 12th lap when Hillard Miller spun wildly off of turn four, coming to an abrupt stop. Hillard Miller's helmet shield was broken, apparently from debris, and he was taken to Mercer Health Center in Coldwater, Ohio, before being airlifted to Parkview Hospital in Fort Wayne, Ind. His condition was immediately unknown.

Matt Miller (no relation to Hillard) wasn't able to restart, retiring to the pits with engine problems and handing the lead to Ruhlman. The winner fought off challenges from Noonan and Scott, who got up to second before getting too high on the final lap and dropping two positions.

Notes: Ruhlman's entry is sponsored by Ruhlman Race Cars and Zeller Towing. ... Ruhlman finished second to Jon Henry in the modified feature. ... Scott James broke a driveshaft while running second. He was among cars involved in the first-lap mess on the frontstretch. ... Ky Harper and Wayne Chinn were both eliminated when they got into the wall in separate early-race incidents. ... A single caution flag slowed action in 11 preliminary races among three divisions.

ALMS @ Eldora: (1) Brian Ruhlman, (2) Casey Noonan, (3) Tyler Boggs, (4) Rusty Schlenk, (5) Steve Casebolt, (6) Ben Adkins, (7) Rick DeLong, (8) Jerry Bowersock, (9) Wayne Maffett Jr., (10) John Mason, (11) Chuck Hummer, (12) Scott James, (13) Kris Patterson, (14) Matt Miller, (15) Hillard Miller, (16) Ron Perrine Jr., (17) Wayne Chinn, (18) Ky Harper, (19) Duane Chamberlain, (20) Randy Woodling, (21) Rusty Seaver. Disqualified: Aaron Scott. Fast qualifier (among 35 cars): Noonan, 15.873 seconds. Heat race winners: Ruhlman, Scott, Harper, Miller. Consolation winners: Chamberlain, James.

Sponsor 1179
Sponsor 728