Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Iowa State Fair Speedway

Andy Eckrich gets Deery victory at Iowa State Fair

August 14, 2012, 10:08 am
From series reports

DES MOINES, Iowa (Aug. 13) — Andy Eckrich and Barack Obama were both the center of attention Monday at the Iowa State Fair. Eckrich held off brother Denny for the $2,000 Deery Brothers Summer Series victory on the night the president brought his re-election campaign to the fairgrounds.

The IMCA Late Model tour win was the second of the season and career sixth for the driver Oxford, Iowa. He is now second in the series standings, 11 points behind fifth-finishing Jeff Aikey of Waterloo, Iowa. Ryan Griffith of Webster City was third and Colby Springsteen of Wapello fourth.

Andy Eckrich drew the outside row one start for the 35-lapper and was more than a straightaway ahead before the yellow flew for an ailing Jason Utter, who slowed on the frontstretch.

After restarting fourth, Denny Eckrich passed Griffith and Jason Hahne for the second spot on lap 19. The front pair ran side by side on laps 23 and 24, Andy on the bottom of the half-mile fairgrounds oval, Denny on the top.

Andy Eckrich finally edged ahead and took a four-length advantage into lapped traffic with four circuits left. Denny Eckrich closed the gap but couldn’t get close enough to challenge before Andy took the checkers.

Notes: Andy Eckrich's Barry Wright Race Car is sponsored by Precision Performance, Schell Industries and Noel's Tree & Crane Service. ... Two-time defending series champion Ray Guss Jr. took a provisional, started 23rd and finished 14th. ... Mike Murphy Jr. won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing. ... Highlights from both the Deery Series and IMCA Sunoco stock car features will be part of State Fair broadcasts on Iowa Public Television Wednesday and Thursday nights at 9 p.m. ... More than 130 cars were in the pits for the traditional State Fair show, which played out before a good crowd. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Kyle Hinrichs, Josh Most, Kurt Kile, Jay Stewart, Kevin Kile, Curt Schroeder and Kelly Tapper. ... The 400th event in series history is next on the schedule when 34 Raceway at West Burlington hosts the $5,000-to-win Pepsi USA Nationals on Sept. 1. ... Pit gates open at 3:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. with racing to follow.

Deery Brothers @ Iowa State Fair: (1) Andy Eckrich, (2) Denny Eckrich, (3) Ryan Griffith, (4) Colby Springsteen, (5) Jeff Aikey, (6) Tyler Bruening, (7) Jason Hahne, (8) Todd Cooney, (9) Jay Johnson, (10) Darrel DeFrance, (11) Tom Darbyshire, (12) Ryan Giles, (13) Nick Marolf, (14) Ray Guss Jr., (15) Mike Murphy Jr., (16) Justin Kay, (17) Craig Jacobs, (18) Tom Goble, (19) Sam Halstead, (20) Chad Cooney, (21) Paul Glendenning, (22) Joel Callahan, (23) Tommy Elston, (24) Jason Utter. Heat race winners (among 39 cars): Jacobs, Denny Eckrich, Bruening, Elston. Consolation winners: Darbyshire, Marolf. Provisional starters: C. Cooney, Murphy, Guss, Kay.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728