Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Zack Dohm dominates, wins Jim Dunn Memorial

August 13, 2012, 6:15 am
From various reports
A Jim Dunn lookalike car paced the starting field. (Todd Battin)
A Jim Dunn lookalike car paced the starting field. (Todd Battin)

CROOKSVILLE, Ohio (Aug. 12) — Zack Dohm of Cross Lanes, W.Va., led all 40 laps Sunday at Midway Speedway for a $5,000 victory in the American Dirt Racing Association’s Jim Dunn Memorial.

Dohm started outside the front row and kept seven-time race winner Donnie Moran of Dresden, Ohio, in check for the victory. Jared Miley of South Park, Pa., was third followed by Sammy Stile of Charleroi, Pa., and 12th-starting Tyler Carpenter of Parkersburg, W.Va. | Slideshow

Pole-starting Chris Garnes of Evans, W.Va., ended up seventh, one spot ahead of fast qualifier Doug Drown of Wooster, Ohio.

Notes: Dohm’s Rocket Chassis is sponsored by T&R Logging, Dohm Cycles and AK Trucking. ... Tyler Carpenter earned hard charger honors for his 12th-to-fifth run. ... Besides Moran, former race winners include Ned Lucas, Ben Hess, Jack Boggs, Freddy Smith, Davey Johnson, Larry Bond, Mike Balzano, Steve Shaver, Bart Hartman, Earl Pearson Jr., Rick Aukland and Ray Cook. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Steve Prince, Danny Mitchell, D.J. Miller, Lauren Longbrake, Adam Thrush and Chris Carpenter, who scratched from his consolation race. ... Midway’s next Super Late Model special is Sept. 3 with a $2,000-to-win event.

Jim Dunn Memorial: (1) Zack Dohm, (2) Donnie Moran, (3) Jared Miley, (4) Sammy Stile, (5) Tyler Carpenter, (6) Corey Conley, (7) Chris Garnes, (8) Doug Drown, (9) Freddie Carpenter, (10) Doug Dodd, (11) Ralph Withem, (12) Wesley Hutchinson, (13) John Wyer, (14) Ronnie Mayle, (15) K.C. Burdette, (16) Rod Conley, (17) Russ Frohnapfel, (18) Shane Campbell, (19) Scott Peltz, (20) Kyle Bates. Fast qualifier (among 36 cars): Drown, 13.99 seconds. Dash winner: Chris Garnes. Heat race winners: R. Conley, Dodd, Peltz. Consolation winners: F. Carpenter, Hutchinson.

Correction: Fixes Tyler Carpenter as fifth-place finisher sted Chris Carpenter.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728