Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 258
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Elkins Raceway

Wilmoth tops Stile for Skidmore Memorial win

August 12, 2012, 7:11 am
By Jeff Yost
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Paul Wilmoth Jr. shows off the $7,500 winner's paycheck. (Tommy Michaels)
Paul Wilmoth Jr. shows off the $7,500 winner's paycheck. (Tommy Michaels)

KERENS, W.Va. (Aug. 11) — Paul Wilmoth Jr. of Clarksburg, W.Va., led flag-to-flag Saturday night at Elkins Raceway en route to a $7,500 triumph in the 3/8-mile oval’s unsanctioned Richard Skidmore Memorial. Slideshow | Video

Fast qualifier Sammy Stile of Charleroi, Pa., scored the runner-up finish in the second race of Elkins’ two-race weekend followed by Gregg Satterlee of Rochester Mills, Pa., and Jared Hawkins of Fremont, W.Va. Jason Covert of York Haven, Pa., finished fifth one night after earning a $5,000 victory in the rain-delayed Jim Hitt Memorial.

Wilmoth outran Stile to turn one on the race’s opening lap and took command as Hawkins, Covert and Shane Hitt ran third through fifth. The first caution came on lap 13 when Tim Senic rolled to a stop in turn two.

Satterlee made his presence known as he climbed from ninth to fifth on lap 18.

Wilmoth was still out front when the yellow again waved on lap 20 for Ron Delano’s trip over the embankment in turn three.

When the race resumed, Wilmoth was still in command while behind him Stile and Hawkins battled door-to-door for second and Satterlee was drove under Covert for fourth.

Wilmoth cruised the remaining distance taking the victory as Stile held on for second and Satterlee moved by Covert and Hawkins to finish third.

Notes: Wilmoth drives a Barry Wright Race Car with sponsorship from Braden Drilling, Midcap Land and Timber, Adkins Timber Products and AFCO Shocks. ... Elkins' next Late Model event is a qualifier for Tyler County Speedway's Black Diamond 125 on Aug. 17.

Richard Skidmore Memorial: (1) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (2) Sammy Stile, (3) Gregg Satterlee, (4) Jared Hawkins, (5) Jason Covert, (6) Shane Hitt, (7) Mason Zeigler, (8) Zack Dohm, (9) Jamie Lathroum, (10) Ricky Williams, (11) Chuck Harper, (12) Mike Benedum, (13) Devin Friese, (14) Jared Miley, (15) Walker Arthur, (16) Brandon Shepherd, (17) Billy Holbert, (18) (19) Butch McGill, (20) Bob Gordon, (21) Dusty Hamrick, (22) Skip Hare, (23) David Watts, (24) Ron Delano, (25) Tim Senic. Fast qualifier (among 34 cars): Stile, 14.84 seconds. Heat race winners: Stile, Wilmoth, Hawkins, Covert. Consolation winner: Hamrick.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728