Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 930
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Kankakee County Speedway

Schlenk grabs $3,000 ALMS victory at Kankakee

August 11, 2012, 6:01 am
By Paul Bayne
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Michigan native Rusty Schlenk heads for victory at Kankakee. (Jim DenHamer)
Michigan native Rusty Schlenk heads for victory at Kankakee. (Jim DenHamer)

KANKAKEE, Ill. (Aug. 10) — Two-time series champion Rusty Schlenk of Weston, Ohio, earned his third Sunoco American Late Model Series victory of the season Friday at Kankakee County Speedway’s Summer Splash Nationals. Schlenk pocketed $3,000 for his 15th career ALMS triumph. | Slideshow

The third-starting Schlenk took the checkers ahead of seventh-starting Bobby Pierce of Oakwood, Ill., while fast qualifier Ryan Unzicker of El Paso, Ill., who started ninth, was third. Brian Shirley of Chatham, Ill., and outside front row starter Mike Spatola of Manhattan, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Polesitter Jay Morris of Pittwood, Ill., was among five drivers retiring from the 23-car field.

Notes: Schlenk’s Lazer Chassis is sponsored by Zeller Automotive, Micro-Armor Lubricants and Main & Company. ... Schlenk has previous ALMS victories this season at Attica (Ohio) Raceway Park and Mount Pleasant (Mich.) Speedway. ... Jason Feger of Bloomington, Ill., earned hard charger honors after starting 19th and finishing sixth. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Randy Manos Jr., Gary Schalmo, Billy Hough, Keaton Laffoon, Glen Thompson, Don Gordon, Kyle Logue and Shawn Toczek, who scratched from his consolation race. ... Not on hand was three-time track champion Mike Provenzano of Marseilles, Ill., who was recently injured in a rollover accident at La Salle (Ill.) Speedway; he suffered a broken vertebra and is apparently out for the season. ... The ALMS tripleheader weekend continues Saturday at La Salle and Sunday at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway.

Summer Splash Nationals: (1) Rusty Schlenk, (2) Bobby Pierce, (3) Ryan Unzicker, (4) Brian Shirley, (5) Mike Spatola, (6) Jason Feger, (7) Dennis Erb Jr., (8) Kevin Weaver, (9) Curtis Roberts, (10) Scott Bull, (11) Brian Ruhlman, (12) Frank Heckenast Jr., (13) Scott Schmitt, (14) Shane Cottle, (15) Rich Bell, (16) Torin Mettille, (17) Ryan VanderVeen, (18) Phil Ausra, (19) Jay Morris, (20) Aaron Ricketts, (21) Steve Thorsten, (22) Jason Jaggers, (23) Daniel Flessner. Fast qualifier (among 32 cars): Unzicker, 15.235 seconds. Heat race winners: Ricketts, Erb, Morris, Jaggers. Consolation winners: Schmitt, Feger.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728