Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1031
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Junction Motor Speedway

Berck halts Stovall win streak at Junction

August 11, 2012, 5:41 am
By Trenton Berry
Lucas Oil MLRA
Kyle Berck (14) takes the second spot from John Anderson (2). (fasttrackphotos.net)
Kyle Berck (14) takes the second spot from John Anderson (2). (fasttrackphotos.net)

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (Aug. 10) — Masterfully negotiation lapped traffic, Kyle Berck of Marquette, Neb., overtook Jesse Stovall of Galena, Mo., with five laps remaining to win the King of the Hill weekend opener at Junction Motor Speedway. | Slideshow

The home-state driver earned $2,000 in a Super Late Model event co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Midwest LateModel Racing Association and National Championship Racing Association DIRTcar Series.

"I could go real high or real low, and that was to my advantage. I just went where he wasn’t,” the fifth-starting Berck said after rousing reception in victory lane. "Lapped cars played a huge factor into that.”

Stovall, who swept the previous weekend’s MLRA races in Humboldt, Kan., and Springfield, Mo., settled for second while John Anderson of Omaha, Neb., was third. Tommy Weder Jr. of Woodward, Okla., and Travis Dickes of Madison, Neb., rounded out the top five.

Stovall led the first 20 laps but couldn’t pull off a third straight victory.

“My car wasn't real raceable tonight. You just kind of had to be in that one groove,” Stovall said. "My car is more raceable in a situation when a track is real slick. All and all it was a good night.”

Notes: Berck’s Swartz Race Car is sponsored by Strobel Manufacturing and Fontanelle. ... Berck notched his third NCRA victory of the season and 25th of his career. ... He owns 14 career MLRA victories; his previous win came Sept. 23, 2011, at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Neb. ... A meet and greet between drivers and fans is scheduled prior to hot laps at Saturday’s event. ... Jason Bodenhamer of Centerview, Mo., earned KRC Hard Charger honors Friday. ... Among drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Scott Koskovich, Andrew Kosiski, Junior Coover, Dustin Walker, Brad Wagoner, Mollee Collins, Chris Avery, Cliff Morrow and Corey Zeitner. ... The King of the Hill continues with a $3,000-to-win event Saturday.

King of the Hill: (1) Kyle Berck, (2) Jesse Stovall, (3) John Anderson, (4) Tommy Weder Jr., (5) Travis Dickes, (6) Chase Junghans, (7) Kevin Sather, (8) Brian Kenkel, (9) Gary Gorby, (10) Chad Dolan, (11) Allen Murray, (12) Robbie Anderson, (13) Steve Kempt, (14) Mike Collins, (15) Mark Dotson, (16) Jason Bodenhamer, (17) Clint Benson, (18) Bill Koons, (19) Dustin Walker, (20) Don Battaglia, (21) Brad Wagoner, (22) Justin Gregg, (23) Bill Leighton Jr., (24) Les Siebert. Heat race winners (among 32 cars): Stovall, Weder, Anderson, Gregg. Consolation winner: Collins.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728