Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1119
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Elkins Raceway

Covert wins at Elkins, takes Jim Hitt Memorial

August 11, 2012, 4:52 am
By Jeff Yost
DirtonDirt.com correspondent
Winner Jason Covert (43a) works on early leader Tim Senic (2s). (Tommy Michaels)
Winner Jason Covert (43a) works on early leader Tim Senic (2s). (Tommy Michaels)

KERENS, W.Va. (Aug. 10) — Rain delayed Jason Covert’s victory Friday at Elkins Raceway, but it couldn’t stop the York Haven, Pa., driver from speeding to victory in the second annual Jim Hitt Memorial. Covert collected $5,000 in the unsanctioned special event for Super Late Models as the track opened one of its biggest weekend’s in history. | Video | Slideshow

Covert took the lead from hometown driver Tim Senic on the eighth lap and led the remainder of a 50-lapper slowed by five cautions, including one with four laps remaining.

Super Late Model drivers will return to Elkins on Saturday for the $7,500-to-win Richard Skidmore Memorial as Elkins paired two rained out specials on the same weekend.

Rick Williams of Beckley, W.Va., fresh off a $4,000 victory last weekend at Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, W.Va., finished second at Elkins on Friday while Jared Hawkins of Fairmont, W.Va., was third. Devin Friese of Chambersburg, Pa., was fourth and Senic, who led the first seven laps, rounded out the top five.

Rain nearly halted the Hitt Memorial for a second straight weekend as skies opened up just as cars were in the lineup chute for the main event. But track officials stuck it out and racing continued two hours later to get the show in.

Notes: Covert’s Barry Klinedinst-owned Rocket Chassis is powered by a Hershey Racing Engine with sponsorship from Pre-Mach Inc., Red Wing Shoes, Lias Tire and Baker Carburetion. ... Covert won the eight-car dash made up of the top two finishers in each of four heats. ... Among drivers drawing cautions: Zach Dohm, Jacob Hawkins, Gregg Satterlee and Shane Hitt. ... Drivers failing to make the feature lineup: Shaun Poling, John Parsons, Billy Beechler, Jess Whitehair and Richard Frazier.

Jim Hitt Memorial: (1) Jason Covert, (2) Rick Williams, (3) Jared Hawkins, (4) Devin Friese, (5) Tim Senic, (6) Paul Wilmoth Jr., (7) Chuck Harper, (8) Butch McGill, (9) Billy Holbert, (10) Harold Redman Jr., (11) Cody Hardesty, (12) Bob Gordon, (13) Mike Benedum, (14) Skip Hare, (15) Shane Hitt, (16) Chris Garnes, (17) Gregg Satterlee, (18) Jacob Hawkins, (19) Tim Hitt, (20) Steve Booth, (21) Jamie McCloud, (22) Zack Dohm, (23) Dusty Hamrick, (24) Charlie George. Fast qualifier (among 29 cars): Covert, 14.47 seconds. Heat race winners: Senic, Dohm, Friese, S. Hitt. Dash winner: Covert. Consolation winner: Garnes.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728