Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Events | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 1010
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

Lafayette County Speedway

Chris Simpson denies Chad's weekend sweep

July 29, 2012, 5:52 am
From series reports

DARLINGTON, Wis. (July 28) — Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, scored his second Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series victory of the season Saturday night at Lafayette County Speedway, denying his older brother Chad a sweep of the Clash’s tripleheader weekend.

The Simpson brothers shared the front for the start of the 35-lap race with the Chris outdueling Chad during the early stages before later pulling away in traffic en route to a $3,000 payday.

Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, settled for second after winning series events Thursday at C.J. Speedway in Columbus Junction, Iowa, and Friday at Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa.

Jason Rauen of Farley, Iowa, came from deep in the field to finish third with Jason Utter of Columbus Junction, Iowa, and Jeff Larson of Freeport, Ill., rounding out the top five.

Notes: The winning Simpson drives a Lonhorn Chassis with a Pro Power Engine and sponsorship from GearWrench, Advanced Machinery and Tool, King Farms, Simpson Farms, Wrap’d and Five Star Shop Service. … Chris Simpson, who earned his fifth-career Corn Belt Clash victory, previously won at the series at Cedar County Raceway in Tipton, Iowa, on May 18. ... Up next for the Corn Belt Clash is a $5,000-to-win event Thursday night at Cedar Lake Speedway in New Richmond, Wis., that kicks off the 25th annual USA Nationals weekend.

Corn Belt Clash @ Lafayette County: (1) Chris Simpson, (2) Chad Simpson, (3) Jason Rauen, (4) Jason Utter, (5) Jeff Larson, (6) Jake Meier, (7) Dennis Erb Jr., (8) Pete Parker (complete results unavailable). Heat race winners (among 29 cars): Chris Simpson, Justin Kay, Meier. Consolation race winner: Rauen.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728