Login |
LIVE VIDEO:  Watch | Order | FAQ | Archives
Sponsor 886
Sponsor 717


All Late Models. All the Time.

Your soruce for dirt late model news, photos and video

  • Join us on Twitter Join us on Facebook
Sponsor 525


Sponsor 743

C.J. Speedway

Chad Simpson ends season-long winless skid

July 27, 2012, 12:04 am
From series reports
Chad Simpson heads for victory at C.J. Speedway. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)
Chad Simpson heads for victory at C.J. Speedway. (mikerueferphotos.photoreflect.com)

COLUMBUS JUNCITION, Iowa (July 26) — Returning to victory lane at the site of his most recent series victory, two-time and defending Corn Belt Clash Late Model Series champion Chad Simpson of Mount Vernon, Iowa, raced to a $3,000 victory Thursday night at C.J. Speedway, ending a nearly year-long winless streak on the regional series. | Slideshow

Simpson, who earned his last series victory at C.J. Speedway on July 28, 2011, took command of Saturday’s 35-lap feature when younger brother Chris Simpson of Oxford, Iowa, slowed from the lead under an early caution.

The elder Simpson led the remaining distance to win C.J. Speedway’s Corn Belt Clash event for the third straight year. Tim Isenberg of Marshfield, Wis., scored the runner-up finish ahead of Pete Parker of Kaukauna, Wis. Kurt Kile of Nichols, Iowa, and Dennis Erb Jr. of Carpentersville, Ill., rounded out the top five.

Notes: The winning Simpson drives a MasterSbilt Race Car with a Pro Power Engine and sponsorship from Liebe Trucking, GATR Truck Center, Farm Bureau Financial Services, Five Star Shop Service. … Chad Simpson extended his point lead over his younger brother and Isenberg with his series-leading 17th victory of his career on the series. … Simpson’s last overall victory came in Farley (Iowa) Speedway's $7,500-to-win Yankee Dirt Track Classic. … The Corn Belt Clash tour has $3,000-to-win events Friday at Fayette County Speedway in West Union, Iowa, and Saturday at Lafayette County Speedway in Darlington, Wis.

Corn Belt Clash @ C.J. Speedway: (1) Chad Simpson, (2) Tim Isenberg, (3) Pete Parker, (4) Kurt Kile, (5) Dennis Erb, Jr., (6) Justin Mitchell, (7) Mark Burgtorf, (8) Denny Eckrich, (9) Rick Wendling, (10) Rob Moss, (11) Jerry Lierly, (12) Jon Rogers, (13) Jake Meier, (14) Jim Rychtik, (15) Tom Goble, (16) Justin Kay, (17) Spencer Diercks, (18) Mike Fryer, (19) Dave Eckrich, (20) Colby Springsteen, (21) Matt Furman, (22) John Vandenberg, (23) Aaron Ricketts, (24) Andy Eckrich, (25) Jason Utter, (26) Chris Simpson, (27) Jay Chenoweth. Heat race winners (among 27 cars): Chad Simpson, Isenberg, Parker. Dash winner: Chad Simpson.

Sponsor 615
Sponsor 728